Lost 3 fish in just over a week

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fcastrofilippo

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, I lost 3 fish in just over a week. I need some advice. I will try and put as much info here as possible. Here is the story.

I am new to saltwater. I have a 75g with 60lbs of base rock and 20lbs of live rock. Have about 80lbs of pink Samoa sand (not live). In reading this forum I went with a fishless cycle. After 2 and half weeks my levels were all at 0. I monitored everyday with the expected spikes in ammonia and nitrites. I posted here and people said that this was not uncommon when using already cured live rock. So after a 50% water change and a few more days of testing I bought a Black clown and a Pajama cardinal. I did not QT them just put them in the main tank. Tested every few days and did a 15% water change once a week for a month. While the main tank was moving along nicely, I decided to set up a QT for my new additions. I had an aquaclear 30 unused so I set it up in my wetdry to establish the beneficial bacteria. I let this run without the carbon for 2 weeks. After the two week period I bought an orange spotted (diamond) goby. Drip acclimated him then put him in the QT. On the second day I found him outside the QT. He jumped. Bummer. The next day I bought a bullet goby (banded goby). Drip acclimated him; put him in the QT tank.