mangroves?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

drummerj

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi again everyone. I just had (another) question about something. I read today that mangroves are good for nitrate reduction and as they grow will render your protien skimmer obsolete. Does anyone have any experience with mangroves? Are they hard to take care of? im very new at this whole SW tank thing so i will be asking probably a million questions! sorry!

They are usually situated in a refugium. They are tall and will stick out above the top of the fuge. I had one, but it lost it's leaves and I presumed dead after about 3 months. I light 24/7, so maybe someone can tell us a bit more and help us both.

Not sure about the skimmer being obsolete. I can't see a mangrove removing that much floating stuff.

i found this link
http://saltaquarium.about.com/cs/nitratecontrol/a/aa051398.htm
and will be lighting the tank during the day with a half actinic half daylight lighting thing, and at night there will be moonlights. and yeah, any extra help would be totally awesome.

*EDIT*
I just drove down and talked to a guy i know at my pet store where i get pretty much everything. HE told me that yes, they could in fact render the protien skimmer obsolete as they become larger. hmmm what else....oh yeah, he said i should be careful though cause itll grow pretty big and outgrow my tank....so ill probably be building a refugium for that as well as for a few other animals.

from personal experince i wouldnt put a mangrove in a tank with suspended lighting cause so the roots are under water the rest is above, and make sure if your sump or refuge is in a differant room it must be heated even tho the water is heated the part of the plant outside the water will get to cold and die. just some thought on it, id still run a skimmer with them tho.