Metal Halide vs Fluorescent

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GuOD

Aquarium Advice Freak
I just had a quick question about these lights because we don't understand the ratings.

I've heard that MH will drastically increase utility costs each month. However, we've noticed some fluorescent bulbs have the same wattage rating as Metal Halide.

For instance, how would a 160w compact fluorescent compare to a 150w metal halide on power draw? In this case, would the metal halide actually use less power and cost less than a fluorescent?

Thanks!

I am not an expert on MHs, actually I just bought my first set of MHs. To answer your question, the MH will draw more power than CFs. I am probably wrong on this, but it may have to do with amps and not watts....some one can probably explain correctly. I was just taking a quick shot, to see if I have at least a basic understanding....

roka64 said:
I am not an expert on MHs, actually I just bought my first set of MHs. To answer your question, the MH will draw more power than CFs. I am probably wrong on this, but it may have to do with amps and not watts....some one can probably explain correctly. I was just taking a quick shot, to see if I have at least a basic understanding....

Thanks. That was my assumption too.

My computer power supply is 700w, but it doesn't even draw close to that majority of the time. I was assuming the wattage rating is something like peak and then the Fluorescent has a 50% draw while MH is probably closer to 100% or something.

I could be totally off on that though :)

From what I am told by my electrical engineer friend, the rated wattage is what is used. Therefore the 150 watt MH bulb will use slightly less power than the 160 watt bulb. However, the MH should put out a lot more lumens as a result of it being more efficient.