Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-14-2006, 12:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Metal Halide vs Fluorescent

I just had a quick question about these lights because we don't understand the ratings.

I've heard that MH will drastically increase utility costs each month. However, we've noticed some fluorescent bulbs have the same wattage rating as Metal Halide.

For instance, how would a 160w compact fluorescent compare to a 150w metal halide on power draw? In this case, would the metal halide actually use less power and cost less than a fluorescent?

Thanks!

Old 11-14-2006, 12:43 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I am not an expert on MHs, actually I just bought my first set of MHs. To answer your question, the MH will draw more power than CFs. I am probably wrong on this, but it may have to do with amps and not watts....some one can probably explain correctly. I was just taking a quick shot, to see if I have at least a basic understanding....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 12:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64
I am not an expert on MHs, actually I just bought my first set of MHs. To answer your question, the MH will draw more power than CFs. I am probably wrong on this, but it may have to do with amps and not watts....some one can probably explain correctly. I was just taking a quick shot, to see if I have at least a basic understanding....
Thanks. That was my assumption too.