Moving an established tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PHLNaClNewGuy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, and thanks for such a great site!
I'm going to be the proud recipient of an established (several year old) Salt Water setup (200 gals). My understanding is that it contains live coral and several fish (not sure of the species or exact numbers yet). It will be moved from Northern Virginia to Philadelphia, a 3 hour trip, and I'd like to give the current residents the best chances of surviving this move. Can anyone give me some tips or rules when it comes to this type of situation? I've had fresh water tanks before, so I have some aquarium experience, but no salt water experience (I plan on combing this site and others, as well as books, before starting!!). My question involves not only moving the living elements - ie should I not remove all of the water and start over (would I be upsetting an ionic balance that would take a long time to reestablish)?

Also, 1 other question - water source for the replacement water. Philly tap water sucks (ie quickly kills even fresh water fish). I have access to de-ionized and double-deionized water (although it would be fairly tough to move 200 gallons of it). Should I try to treat the tap water (and therefore be able to quickly refill the tank) or use DI water (which would be a very slow process)?

Thanks in advance!

I'm just getting back into marine tanks after a 10 years absence, but I've moved my share of FO marine tanks back in the day.

Here's how I'd do it:

1. Get three of your friends and a full sized pickup truck. That tank is at least a four man job.

2. Get 200 gallons of big strong plastic trash cans, with lids. You'll want to take as much water as possible, and all of the substrate, rock, etc.