My First Saltwater Tank - 20 gallons

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sandybw1

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I want to start my first FOWLR aquarium. I have the aquarium tank 20 gallons, and Marineland HOB filter already. What else will I need? I want to use sand...Live sand as the substrate.

Haha you are just like me I've had my tank for four weeks this Sunday you will for sure need a heater and set it at 74-75 you will also need a hydrometer and a thermometer I have a API saltwater master test kit for things like ammonia extra filter cartridges and that is a good place to start after a week or so get your water tested and if cleared by your fish store you can add a couple of snails and hermit crabs I started out with a scarlet legged and blue legged crabs along with two turbo snails but you might want to put less because your tank is a little smaller than mine I would also do live rock as well as the sand trust me it helps a lot after three weeks of running the tank and 2 weeks after adding the crabs and snails check the water again if good and cleared by fish store the add 1 fish I added a clown goby and he is doing just fine then you can start adding fish every 2-3 weeks

I would recommend adding a powerhead as well and use a refractometer for measuring salinity. Do you want it to be a reef? If so then think about using ro-di water, no tap water for a reef tank ;) you will also need powerful lighting for that.
I would suggest around 20 - 30 pounds of live rock (rock first, then sand) to start the cycle. You can use pure ammonia or a raw shrimp form the grocery store for that. Check out the articles on here on how to set up a salt tank, there is great info on how to cycle a tank properly...