Need Advice for Touch Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

patricemc

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am a teacher new to the area (Gainesville, Florida). I would like to set up a touch tank. School funds are tight. In the past I have received invertebrates (sea stars, urchins, biscuits, etc.) for a science supply company who uses a supplier in the Keys.

The problem has been that I also use the tank for a sea urchin embryology activity so I have an over abundance of sea urchins (14 - 16). I would like to keep everyone healthy and alive.

Ideas for purchasing equipment--cheap??
Ideas for keeping everyone alive??
Ideas??
Thanks for the help.

My lfs uses a large Composite plastic cattle feed container (I think it's a rubbermaid) that came from a Farm Fleet store. It's about 5 feet across by 24 inches deep.

There's an inch or so of sand on the bottom and the whole thing is heated by one large ebo jager and filtered by a magnum 350.

In it they have a shark, carpet anemone, big clarkii clown, stingray, urchins, 2 lionfish, etc.

Thay have had some form or another of open topped tank ever since I have known them and every inhabitant does great. They feed the inhabitants mostly live fish.

If you started one, you would be wise to get some tankwater and live sand from your friendly LFS to speed up the cycling process.

Hope that helps alittle. It is so fun to pet the stingray when he comes out of the water and flaps at you.

(edited to correct tank dimensions :) )

first question is what size of a tank are we working with?