Need Advise. My tank didn't cycle?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

njphin

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm new to this and I just started a 20 gallon salt water fish tank. I wanted to start small. I have filter setup, heater. I have no live rock. I have no live sand in tank I have Caribsea Aragonite sand at the bottom. I let tank run for 2 weeks without fish. I just added 2 pecular clownfish. The so purpose of my salt water hobby is to just own 2 clownfish, I don't want to add anything else. At least that is my intentions right now. The more I read the more I realize my tank never cycled. Big rookie mistake. The good news for now is that my fish are acting very good. There eating and swimming and looking very happy. Again the more I read the more I'm little scared that something bad is about to happen. My test levels that I just took are:
Nirate= 0
Nirite= 0
PH= 8.0
Amonia= .50

Any advice on what to expect? and if its bad how can I get my fish through it?
Thanks

Lots of testing and water changes or (even better) take the fish back and cycle properly.

You need to continually test for ammonia and nitrites until cycled which will probably be 4-6 weeks. Probably daily water changes so mix up that saltwater in bulk.

...Again the more I read the more I'm little scared that something bad is about to happen. ...

Well... the cycle is going to happen, so it's just a yes/no question you have to answer: do you cycle with, or without the fish. If you cycle without fish, nothing "bad" will happen at all. If you cycle with fish, something "bad" *may* happen. The absolute easiest way to get through it is take the fish back and cycle the tank without them.