Need help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jr5018

Aquarium Advice Regular
Ok a few questions can I use live sand with an undertow/undergravel filter with 2 powerheads. Also can i just go diving in the atlantic and collect my own live sand? Can I mix live sand with more colorful sands

no, you dont want to use a UG filter at all. They aren't really used in SW tanks. What kind of tank do you want? FO, FOWLR, or reef?

You can collect your own sand but you will want to go out as far into the ocean as you can because the sand on the beach is polluted.

I want a fish only tank maybe a couple live rocks and live sand. I really just need to know what to buy I went to the pet store today and they said an UG filter was the way to go please help? Also seventy feet down off key largo should not be that polluted should it can i get the sand from there?

im no expert but that sounds like a fine place to get the sand. With live sand you dont need a UG filter. Just make the sand bed about 4" deep and it will be a very efficient filter. Add about 1-2lbs/gallon of live rock and thats really all the filtration you need. A protein skimmer would be a great addition though. What size tank do you have?

I have a 55 gallon tank so let me get this straight i will have to add about 4" of live sand that is about 115 lbs if i am not mistaken and a few live rocks, that will act as my filter? Then i will need circulation right? how is this achieved? By powerheads i am assuming can i also put bubble wands and stuff like that eventually i want 2 starfish 2 clown fish a tang some shrimp and a couple other nice looking fish

Many will tell you not to use UGF but in my opinion it's just as good as a plenum or DSB filter.
BUT, in my case I prefer to use a pre-filtered, reverse flow undergravel filter.