Need to know what a good starter fish would be.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Thomas529

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to the hobby and starting out with a new 36 gallon tank with 5 lbs of live rock. I have had the tank and rock cycling for 7 days now, and am ready to add fish to it. Would an Oscellaris clownfish be a good fish to start with in the tank?

Yes clowns are wonderful beginner fish. I'd buy 2 of equal size and over time one will switch to a female. You will then have a pair. 7 days isn't long enough to cycle. Plus you need more rock. You want a lb to a lb and a Half per gallon. So you'd want 36 lbs. then you can begin to cycle with either a raw shrimp method or pure ammonia method

Ya I agree clowns are awesome but I can normally have one pair is when I started my 90 gal tank I had 3 pairs of clown Picasso, white face clown and black and white one. And can you post your plumbing because I am worried u don't even have a protein skimmer. Your going to need more live rock like the post above stated

Ya I agree clowns are awesome but I can normally have one pair is when I started my 90 gal tank I had 3 pairs of clown Picasso, white face clown and black and white one. And can you post your plumbing because I am worried u don't even have a protein skimmer. Your going to need more live rock like the post above stated

I don't have plumbing, I am using a hang on filter, and no I don't have a protein skimmer yet. The amount of live rock I purchased was what was recommended by the LFS. The live rock was pulled from their tanks, so it wasn't dry.

Wow don't go to that LFS I think u should buy a good book on saltwater aquariums I have read a lot and that's how I gained a lot of my knowledge

Green chromis or a clown my yellow tail damsel seems pretty hardy they all survived an ich attack i had