Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-17-2012, 02:16 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

New 30 gal Saltwater setup

Hello folks. I am new to the saltwater aquarium but have had freshwater ones for decades. I have the following equipment
30 gal tank
Whisper 20-40 filter
Aquion 700 circ pump
125 w heater (I think, but it's plenty for my tank)

I went with a "au natural" start to my tank by getting clean sand from the ocean beach near my work. The beach is not accessible by the public and so there is no worry of local pollution. I also got the water from the ocean as well. As I live in Canada and on an island, there is almost no boat traffic here either. Clean water and clean sand. A nearby neighbor was closing down her 90 gal reef tank and I got about 20 lbs of live rock to add once the tank had been up for a bit with another 5 lbs from the start. I also ended up taking 2 damsels as well. I know I didn't cycle the tank properly but I am hopeful with all the live rock and live sand I got that it will be ok. I'll watch the levels closely.

In addition there are plenty of brittle stars, small snails and feather dusters. But I also got 2 caterpillar looking worms with the big one being about 4" long. What are they? They appear harmless. Are they?

Bauer I'll have lots of questions once i see if all goes ok to start

Old 05-17-2012, 02:18 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Big worm
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-849552566.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	198.5 KB
ID:	95227  

Old 05-17-2012, 05:01 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict