Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-05-2013, 12:43 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 378
How can you tell when it's fully cycled?
__________________

__________________
Cb24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 12:44 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
baron1282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 926
I am transferring everything over from a 29 gallon to a 55 gallon. I already have 50 pounds of live rock in my 29 gallon.

Tomorrow is when I am doing this. I am not cycling the bigger tank as the bigger tanks needs to go in the same place as my smaller tank. I also bought some bottled bacteria to help out with the move. I am buying some more rock as well, rock that is already cured and ready to move into the tank.

As long as you transfer your old filter media over, and rock you should be fine. Your tank will do a cycle, but because you already got the Bactria on the rock and filter it shouldn't be that bad. I will let you know how my experience goes. I am hoping it goes well, because I do not want any fish deaths on me. My fish are expensive. :-p

I got a lot of helpful advice in my build thread if you want to check it out.

New Tank Build Thread! 55 Gallon tank upgrade!
__________________

__________________
Fish Sticks, the best thing you can do with your dead fish.
baron1282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 03:28 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 378
Could you use tap water but buy tap water conditioner?
__________________
Cb24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 03:34 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
baron1282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cb24 View Post
Could you use tap water but buy tap water conditioner?
I wouldn't. R/O water is the best. It cuts down on a lot of problems later on. Conditioners just cover up the problem, but it will eventually catch up to you.

I would go to your Local Super Market and see if they got an R/O machine around. That's where I get my water right now. I mix my own Salt. I use to buy my water straight from the LFS, but they stop selling it. If I where close to a LFS that sold R/O pre-mixed Saltwater, that's where I would get my water.

To set up my 55 gallon tank, I have 10 5 gallon buckets full of pre-mixed ready to go water. When I am done, I will save them for when I need to move. If you can get water already done, I would go that route. If you have to make your own, it's not hard at all. Just follow the directions on the box.
__________________
Fish Sticks, the best thing you can do with your dead fish.
baron1282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 03:37 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 378
Is distilled water not that good either?
__________________
Cb24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 03:45 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Searchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Posts: 202
Lol just curious, you have a 55. What are you currently using for top offs or water changes?

DI will work fine.
__________________
Searchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 03:58 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 378
I went to petco and they said use tap water and the conditioner for it so they screwed me over so I'm gonna actually do it right this time
__________________
Cb24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 04:12 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Searchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Posts: 202
So let me put it this way, when I get to a tank that large I'm going to buy my own RO/DI system. It would be too much of a hassle for me to go get water in that large of quantities at the store. However right now I just buy RO at the grocery store for a dollar a gallon. You might consider that
__________________
Searchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 04:40 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,322
It would seem to me that if you moved the fish and biological media you have working now into a larger tank with more water and unseeded rock, that there would be little or no cycle peak that would harm anything. It should be that the tank adjusts to the bioload by adding more bacteria, but if the rocks and sand were already working for the load, then if you don't kill off the bacteria in the move, you should be all set.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.