Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-03-2013, 09:44 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Ethan7474's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTodd View Post
I know with the Dr Tim's Ammonium Chloride , it is a drop per gallon. I'm not sure if the Ace Hardware ammonia is exactly the same. I would start slow, add a little, test to see where you are at and adjust accordingly. Better to be low at first and move it up, than the other way around.
I added ammonia yesterday and today my ammonia level is the same... What does that mean?
__________________

__________________
Ethan7474 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 10:34 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
gd007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethan7474 View Post
I added ammonia yesterday and today my ammonia level is the same... What does that mean?
Give it time. The bacteria need to build up to start to break down the ammonia.

Check out this site:
Fishkeeping - Fishless Tank Cycling and Avoiding New Tank Syndrome - General Guides - Articles
__________________

__________________
gd007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 03:04 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nevada
Posts: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethan7474 View Post
I added ammonia yesterday and today my ammonia level is the same... What does that mean?
What do you mean its the same?Did you test after adding the ammonia?What were ur readings?What are ur readings for Nitrite?Don't be discouraged it takes time and patience.Good luck.
__________________
Criptix
2.5 gallon home of Gillbert the Crowntail Betta
40g breeder awaiting fish
Criptix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 03:27 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
If it stays the same, then you don't have enough BB to change it to nitrite or nitrate. It will happen though. As others have said , it takes time.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 07:40 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Ethan7474's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Criptix View Post
What do you mean its the same?Did you test after adding the ammonia?What were ur readings?What are ur readings for Nitrite?Don't be discouraged it takes time and patience.Good luck.
The ammonia level was the same .. Ammonia level was at 2.0 ppm.. Thanks
__________________
Ethan7474 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 09:08 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Ethan7474's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethan7474 View Post
The ammonia level was the same .. Ammonia level was at 2.0 ppm.. Thanks

So I tested the water parameterS and the ammonia level went down from 3.0 to .25 and nitrite level is at at .50.. Finally progress!
__________________

__________________
Ethan7474 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.