Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-26-2010, 09:19 AM   #31
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
Yea, it will vary, while my skimmer breaks in, I usually set fairly low and eventually some really dry skimmate makes it towards the top, but some people like to break them in really wet. I'm honestly not sure of the best way, you may want to do some research.
__________________

__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 09:28 AM   #32
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
So i did a quick look. apparently people clean all the parts with a vinegar/water solution then rinse it out. It is supposed to help break it in quicker.
__________________

__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 04:00 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
I don't think there is an easy way to setup a Sea Clone skimmer.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 04:08 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rncarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 275
mY concern with the skimmere is that i am not sure what is a good foam adjustment.
__________________
rncarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 04:24 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Okay, you want the foam to barely bubble over the raiser and into the collection cup. If done right the skimmate that collects in the cup should be very dark and dry (limited water). It will not smell nice either. These skimmers take awhile to break in and with a new tank you may not have enough proteins in the water to skim anyway.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 04:46 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rncarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 275
I try to get the foam at the edge of the raiser but after a hour the cup is filled with water.
__________________
rncarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 11:43 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
More then likely your water level is to high. Either raise the skimmer and pump or lower the water level,
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 11:45 AM   #38
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rncarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 275
Well after 7 days my tank water is so clear it sometimes look like there is no water inside. I had the LFS check the water quality yesterday and they said everything is good. I am thinking about putting some hermit crabs today to help with the cycle for another week.
__________________
rncarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 03:33 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
I recommend that you buy a liquid test kit like API and start learning to test the water yourself. In the mean time when you ask the LFS to do a test have them give you the numbers..Test for SG, Ammonia, Nitrite, nitrate, temp. and P03 if you can. It will really help you out down the road and take some of the Mistique out of Maintaiining a SW system.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 10:31 AM   #40
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rncarter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 275
Well i went to the LFS that i buy my rocks from. He tested my water again for me and he told me I have a PH reading of 8.1 and my ammonia level is high he showed me he number/reading but I don't remember what is was exactly, I know it was more than zero. My salinity was at 1.026. The owner of the LFS gave me 5 gallons of RO water free to replenish the water that was evaporate. I also got some more LRs. this morning my salt reading was 1.023.
__________________

__________________
rncarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
new tank setup, setup, tan, tank setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Tank Setup! Shouter Show Off/Photography 2 12-25-2009 11:35 AM
New Tank Setup newlevelomni Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 07-31-2006 08:40 PM
Need Help With New Tank Setup Pinoy_Fish_Dude Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 09-28-2005 05:48 PM
QT tank setup help. briandh76 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 05-01-2005 03:08 PM
30-40 gallon tank or hole setup wanted?Or any ref ready tank Dewey Midwest & the Dakotas 2 03-13-2005 10:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.