New to the SW world

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hitatree

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Aight guys, i'm finished with my 60 and 10 gallon FW planted tanks and just got hold of a 30 gallon tank I want to go salt, FOWLR. For right now, planning about 30 pounds of LR with no LS. Want to put maybe a couple clownfish with inverterbrates. Possibly doing low light corals, not for right this moment though. I'm planning on putting a TetraTech filter in there for the surface agitation and you can put a heater in the filter itself, plus the nozzle for the output pulsates back and forth to give you some currents simulation. But, I am VERY new to salt right now so please answer a couple newb questions for me:

1. I know RO/DI water is very good, but can i just use tapwater aged a couple days? I was even thinking about getting this tapwater filter from Aqarium Pharmaceuticals for about 35 bucks.

2. For maybe 2-3 fish plus mild number of invertebrates, is a skimmer needed? Also, what is the exact purpose of the skimmer?

3. For lighting, is 2-3 WPG a good number for maybe a few soft corals and some polyps? And for just live coral, what are the requirments for light? And are tubeworms hard to take care of and what are their req?

4. Really newb question, after getting the salinty correct in the tank, do i have to add salt to the water i add to it? I'm thinking only when doing water changes i might but when just topping off i dont, please correct me though.

i think thats about it...if anybody has some good links on fully understanding the saltwater world it wouldn't help to share them with me. I'm not new to the fish world believe me, just to the saltwater portion. See yall

hitatree said: