Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-16-2009, 09:20 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: wayne, PA
Posts: 49
New water for new tank?

I have run my new salt water tank for 4 days with tap water to check for leaks, all has been sorted out. I was planning on emptying the fresh water (from the tap, has A tds of 110ppm) and re filling with RO/DI water. A LFS said that i dont have too because I am not putting any coral in,and i can just add the salt to the water in the tank. The tank is a180 gallons with a 40 gal sump. It will take 4 or 5 days for my ro/DI unit to produce that much water. What do you think?
__________________

__________________
miesenjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 09:43 AM   #2
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
Depends on what you want to start with. If you're happy with the tap water, add the salt and move to Ro/DI during your water changes. If you want to start with pure water, drain and refill. Honestly 110 doesn't seem 'that' bad but it's a personal choice.
__________________

__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 10:37 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
I would test your tap water for phosphates. When I started my 180 I hauled RO/DI water from a LFS to speed the filling.
__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 08:11 AM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Ezy brings up a good point. If your tap water has alot of phosphates, nitrates or silicates then you`ll most likely have some severe algea problems. If it was me I would go with the RO/DI but it`s up to you. Here is a good link on tap water.

http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issues/jan2004/chem.htm
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 09:08 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sadielynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,835
Why not just start off right ,and use RO/DI ?
As mentioned it will give you algea issues . And will take a bit of time to remove it all as this will be in your LR , sand and every where ... It is just easier to use RO/DI from the start and eliminate the fuel from the algea from the beginning .. and a TDS of 110 is too high for a tank ... so you are almost 99% that you will have algea issues in it
__________________
Sadielynn
Nanoreefing site
2 nanos
10 gallon ~6.5 gallon custom
Sadielynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 11:34 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: wayne, PA
Posts: 49
thanks,
I figured this to be the case. I have the 50 gal per day RO/DI unit. I might as well start off with the best water conditions I can. I just know it is going to take days to fill! Im going to get 30' of hose and put it in the tank with my auto shut off.
__________________
miesenjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 11:52 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sadielynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,835
why not buy some and fill some with your system it will make it easier on your filters and help you to speed along say 50/50 or 60/40 etc
__________________
Sadielynn
Nanoreefing site
2 nanos
10 gallon ~6.5 gallon custom
Sadielynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 08:20 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: wayne, PA
Posts: 49
I have 60 gal worth of 5 gal buckets in my truck now. when I finnigh work today I am going to speed this up by oging to the LFS. The tank was only up 2" overnight. I will go crazy watching the slow progress. what do you pay for 5 gallons of R/O water?
__________________
miesenjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 08:38 AM   #9
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
'and a TDS of 110 is too high for a tank'

Average TDS in a US metropolitan area us 300-400 ppm. That reading does not mean the concentration is all nitrate/phosphate or silicates. Testing is the only way to determine that.

Although I don't, lots of people use tap water and have minimal if any algae issues. I venture a guess that some use RO/DI and still fight algae issues as well.

As I said, I would consider a TDS of 110 a great number for municipal tap water, not knowing what the levels of nitrate/phosphates and silicates are
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 04:37 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 25
Send a message via ICQ to R6Chick Send a message via AIM to R6Chick Send a message via MSN to R6Chick Send a message via Yahoo to R6Chick
No point in starting with pristine water in a new tank. The tank is going to crash anyway, that's the point of cycling. Add your water treatment stuff if you have not already and some salt.
__________________

__________________
Those who would beat their swords into plowshares will plow for those of us who would not.
R6Chick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
salt water to fresh water tank? rob28 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 11-15-2008 08:36 PM
Moving a 75 gallon tank from city water to well water... Radioheadx14 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 05-22-2007 10:21 AM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM
When adding water to the tank/changing the water Onecell Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 20 11-08-2004 01:39 PM
Use water softner water in freshwater, planted tank? yvonne Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 08-21-2003 03:09 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.