Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-13-2012, 08:10 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
GatwickGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 41
Newbie

Hi guys, I just set up my first saltwater tank, it's just under 50 gallon, added live rock, live sand, marisys240, mp10, 1 small korali, all this came with the second hand tank, it's been running for 3 weeks, i have clean up crew rite now 1 blood shrimp 2 hermit crab, am I ready to add fish?

Ph 8.0
Ammo 0.25
Nitrite 0. Ppm
Nitrate 5.0 ppm
And also is this normal shell for hermit crab? Thanks guys
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-434082120.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	161.4 KB
ID:	118277   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3836383084.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	111.7 KB
ID:	118278  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2881641032.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	143.4 KB
ID:	118279  
__________________

__________________
GatwickGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:23 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
I would say no if you still have ammonia. Did you provide an ammonia source to cycle?

Hermits will use any shell they can find and if you put a few empty ones in there he may change shells sometime.

That is a gorgeous tank!
__________________

scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:32 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
GatwickGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottayy
I would say no if you still have ammonia. Did you provide an ammonia source to cycle?

Hermits will use any shell they can find and if you put a few empty ones in there he may change shells sometime.

That is a gorgeous tank!
No I didn't add any ammonia source to the cycle,
I like the shell as long as he is not sick I'm happy, Thanks.
__________________
GatwickGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:35 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Well, I'm not sure if you're cycled or not. Was it all live rock? You might have just had an ammonia source from a small amount of dieoff during transfer to your tank.
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:39 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
GatwickGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 41
Do I have too much ammonia in my tank? How long more b4 I can add fish, what needs to be done? Thanks in advance.
__________________
GatwickGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:43 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Are you familiar with the process of cycling?

It turns ammonia (fish waste) into nitrite and then nitrates. You want 0 ammonia and 0 nitrites. Nitrates are acceptable up to like 40ppm. If these bacteria that convert waste aren't present then your fish may die and it will be harmful for them.

To see if you are cycled you would need to add an ammonia source and see if it is converted to nitrates within 24 hours. I wouldn't do it with your critters in there though!
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:46 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
GatwickGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottayy
Well, I'm not sure if you're cycled or not. Was it all live rock? You might have just had an ammonia source from a small amount of dieoff during transfer to your tank.
Yes all of them live rock, some of them look so real some of them look so fake(lol) but yes it's live rock. Okie I wait few more days, I m checking everyday with api master kit, do you know how long tht'll last.
__________________
GatwickGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:50 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
GatwickGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by GatwickGuy

Yes all of them live rock, some of them look so real some of them look so fake(lol) but yes it's live rock. Okie I wait few more days, I m checking everyday with api master kit, do you know how long tht'll last.
How long api master kit last?
__________________
GatwickGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:51 AM   #9
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
It won't go anywhere without an ammonia source. Toss in an uncooked shrimp, that'll do it and feed your hermit crab while you're at it.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 09:06 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
GatwickGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank
It won't go anywhere without an ammonia source. Toss in an uncooked shrimp, that'll do it and feed your hermit crab while you're at it.
Shrimp, where do I get it? Is frozen shrimp ok like from asda, tescos?
__________________

__________________
GatwickGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.