Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-14-2006, 04:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

NEWBIE!!! Set-up Advice

Hi! I am brand new to the SW world. I am interested in setting up a 29 gal fish only tank for 2 false perculas to start out. I have done some researching and purchased a few books. However, I am a bit confused about all the filtration options. I am not really interested in LR, but wil do LS. What are you suggestions for a filtration system?

TIA!
Krissy

Old 05-14-2006, 05:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

welcome to AA, and did you, by any chance just make a website for fish? just wondering cuz i saw that name....

anyways,

live rock would be the best way to go, but i dont have it yet in my 55. I've only got some lace rock in there now. I've just got a fluval filter on it, but i havent had any problems yet with anything, and its been almost 6 weeks. that isnt a very long time at all tho, so i'd wait on someone elses advice. Do you have a canister filter or hang on or anything? If you get a canister, i think you can buy LR rubble, and put that in one of the compartments...i think thats what someone told me i oculd do.

Quote:
29 gal fish only tank for 2 false perculas to start out
you do mean after the cycle is finished, correct? even tho clowns are supposed to be a hardy fish, dont make them cycle the tank.

HTH

mike

Old 05-14-2006, 05:35 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
If you do not want to go with rock, I would suggest something along the lines of a fluval cannister or an aquaclear hang on the back.
Old 05-14-2006, 06:46 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Mike-
No, I don't have a website. Weird that you've seen that name before