Newbie to the saltwater world

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nickstanley995

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey guys I just have a few questions I was hoping could be answered as I am new to the whole saltwater tank world and wanted tk gjve it a go. I have a 33g tank that I want to turn into a fowlr tank. Ive been doing recearch for about two to three weeks now and a few things I have seen have contradicted each other. First question is if I have live rock and a protein skimmer, do I need a filter? I have seen that I do and that I dont. Another question is, can I use dechlorinated tap water for my water instead of R/O water? Lastly, since im only going fowlr do I need a certain light bul or will any do? Thanks a lot!

Sent from my SGH-I747M using Aquarium Advice mobile app

as long as you have a bulb thats fish safe you'll be ok. get R/O water. dont risk it with tap or dechlorinated water. ive seen and heard when the water treatments dont work will really spike your levels. as for filters it all depends on what your doing with fish. i have a filter. if you dont get one you'll be doing more water changes. if you do get one it will be less mess to clean up in your tank.

Okay, ill start checking my lfs if they have R/O water for sale. And not exactly sure what type of fish I want yet. For a filter I have either a fluval 206 kicking around or a hob filter sized for a 55g. Which woukd work better, or be more practical? And if I had a filter would I need a protein skimmer as well?

a filter and protein skimmer work hand in hand. the skimmer gets rid of access waste and food and the filter keeps the water clear and clean. i have the fluval fx5 in my 55 and it works amazing. i would say choose what youd prefer. sumps are always the best way to go though