Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-29-2006, 10:19 AM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Newbie Update - Water Test results

Quote:
Originally Posted by oo7cable
No I dont vacum my CC at all....Is that bad?
It could be, that might be a source of your nitrAtes, since waste gets trapped in there.
Quote:
Originally Posted by oo7cable
How did you change it out? Just start scooping?
I would do it in sections. I did mine 1/3 of the tank at a time. I actually had sand and CC so I had to use a pasta strainer to get the CC out of the sand. I would also suggest to have a PWC ready, stirring up the substrate might cause a spike.
Sand substrate depth is a personal preference. I have about 2-3 inches in one tank and about 3-4 in my cycling tank.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 11:12 AM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Quote:
Originally Posted by oo7cable
I think I will change out the CC to playsand, however I cant find any info on how deep the substrate should be. 3-4 inches is my guess.....And do I need to add LS or can I skip that part?
Read the Substrate section of the stock list post. For 3" you're going to need 120 lbs of aragonite sand.

10 fish is the main reason why your no3 is high all the time. You have 20+" of total adult fish length and should be closer to 11" I know most of them are small 1" fish but it adds up and you will always battle no3 and algae with this high of a bio-load.

Sure vacuuming your CC and cleaning your canister weekly would help but until you reduce your fish count by half or buy a 100+ gal tank to house the fish you have you will have algae issues.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 12:27 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 71
Send a message via MSN to oo7cable
What are the dimensions of a standard 125gal tank?
Thanks for the replys guys, it helps a lot. Ive learned so much more on here in the past month than I have in the past year!

I think I will take back some damsels.
I also need a clean up crew, but I afraid my puffer would eat most of them.
Any suggestions?


Josh
__________________
oo7cable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 12:41 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Demensions on a standard 125G are 72x18x22.
If you are going this route, you could set up a fuge and have a cleaning crew in there.
As for a cleaning crew in the main, with a puffer, they will probably be snacks. I am not sure, but you MIGHT have luck with critters that burrow under the sand, but I am not too sure the puffer would find them or not.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 03:41 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 71
Send a message via MSN to oo7cable
Thanks for the dimensions, I might be able to squeeze that size tank in my place.

So my algae is growing like crazy!! Should I clean it off the glass or let it be?
__________________
oo7cable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 04:00 PM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I'd clean it. Can you get a pic?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 12:03 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 71
Send a message via MSN to oo7cable
I'll clean it tomorrow, and do PWC. Im also getting a lot of PODS. There hard to clean off, any suggestions?

Pics -
Attached Images
File Type: jpg algae_3_142.jpg (154.8 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg algae_2_103.jpg (173.9 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg algae_1_187.jpg (197.0 KB, 11 views)
__________________
oo7cable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 10:25 AM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
From those pics, I would say you have some dead spots, which are helping it to grow. Can you adjust your phs or get an extra one, to point at it?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 02:09 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 71
Send a message via MSN to oo7cable
Yeah I definitatly need 2 more Power Heads! Heading out to the LFS later today.

Im gonna start the substrate swap also, I'll post up some pics later.
__________________
oo7cable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 02:13 PM   #20
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Cool!
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
test, test results

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water test results are in! Sahabo Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 05-06-2008 12:50 PM
water test results swjunkie Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 01-22-2006 06:48 PM
Water test results russrimm Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 10-02-2004 09:21 PM
Are my water test results OK? Gesh Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 08-01-2004 10:33 AM
Water Test Results Bearfan Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 12-09-2003 05:46 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.