Newbie with a 100 Gallon Tank - going SW

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cox82

Aquarium Advice Activist
Call me crazy, but I'm new to the size and SW set up, but I'm going all in (the poker player in me). I have kept (and maintained) fresh water tanks in the past without checking all of the water levels, etc.. Now after reading many articles over the last few weeks, I am understanding that I was actually playing russian rulette with my livestock.

So, I'm here, asking you kind folks to walk me through this big decision. I know it will take time (I have all of the time in the world), patience (another unlimited supply...ok, that's a lie, but for a beautiful set-up, I'm will to force myself to have some), and money (of course, everyone wants bang for the buck, or to save some, but I'm willing to spend...it's convincing my husband that might take some effort).

So, I have a 100 gallon tank...that's it! I have limited knowledge, although I've been studying everything and will continue to study until I feel that I won't be wasting my money and time. I have a list of items (I'll write them below to see if anything can be added or deleted) and I have a plan (although probably needs the kinks to be smoothed out with your help....oh! did I mention, I have a million questions, but will take them a few at a time.

So, my plan: buy my equipment at Reef quality (in case I want to go that way later and I probably will); set up tank with live sand, leave for a few days; add a few pieces of base quality live rock and a few dead prawns, let it cycle; add rest of base quality live rock, let it cycle; add rest of good quality live rock, let it cycle; add livestock slowly. What do you think?