Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-11-2012, 10:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Nitrates

My nitrates are around 10-15 ppm (hard to tell w/ API test kit). I was wondering if this was acceptable for a FOWLR system. My ammonia and nitrates are both 0 and PH is 8.3. salinity is 1.025 as well. I'm relatively new to this, and it's kind of intimidating! Lol. I was just wondering if there's anything else I'm forgetting to worry about and if at these levels my fish are happy or not. I have a coral beauty and canary blenny. 75 gallon system w 75 lbs live rock, carbon and Gfo.

Old 04-11-2012, 10:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Yes that is fine. Anything under 20 is safe, so you should be ok. If you want to get those nitrates down then just do a water change

Old 04-11-2012, 10:43 PM   #3

Thanks, I definitely appreciate it How can I get them to 0 and keep them there? My fish seem happy, and I want to keep them that way lol
Old 04-11-2012, 10:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

To tell you the truth i am suprised that you have 10-15 nitrates when you only have 2 fish in your system. How often do you do water changes?

For example, i had 10 nitrate sonce so i did a 30% water change every week until they went down to 0. Now i only do a 30% every two weeks because the nitrates are staying at 0
Old 04-11-2012, 10:57 PM   #5

I have a fairly new system, only had the fish for 2 weeks. I think some are left over from cycling to be honest... Lol, I suck
Old 04-11-2012, 10:59 PM   #6

30% is what I'll try to aim for. How much do you think 2 fish will impact the nitrates? Like if I don't over feed will they still be up to 30+ after a week or 2?
Old 04-11-2012, 11:07 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict