Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-27-2012, 01:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 23
Nitrates disappeared?!

I have a 20 gallon long FOWLR tank, with one blue damsel, 2 pajama cardinals, a hawaiian feather duster, and two blue legged hermit crabs. There is about 18 lbs of live rock. Well, I tested my water earlier, and:
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 0
I am using a API master saltwater test kit.
The trates are gone! They were at 40 a week ago. I've done nothing except for 25% p

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20121227_122815.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	51.8 KB
ID:	139862

wc's every week. Any clue? Here's the tank.
__________________

__________________
Colton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 06:41 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
woody390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,041
How longs tank been going?
__________________

__________________
woody390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 07:39 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 171
I had trouble with the api test for nitrate. I got a different brand because I kept showing them at 0. With the sailifert test they were over 100.
__________________
bonniewoodruff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 08:10 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 23
About 5 months. It's a fairly mature tank.
__________________
Colton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 09:50 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
baron1282's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 926
I thought Nitrates at 0 was ok as long as Nitrites were at 0 too? According to my test my Nitrates are at 0 as well. I had let it cycled for 3 weeks got the BIG ammonia spike than got the Nitrite spike, than everything went to 0. Everything! I proceeded to put two Clown Fish in my tank, and I am adding a Six line tomorrow. I did a test tonight to make sure everything was good for the Wrasse.

Everything reads 0, but the PH which is at 8.2.
__________________
Fish Sticks, the best thing you can do with your dead fish.
baron1282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 10:00 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 23
I know there's.nothing wrong with it, but just the fact that its at 0 is odd. I've always had at least 5 ppm of nitrates. I guess I'm doing something right
__________________

__________________
Colton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
disappeared, nitrates

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.