No Ammonia or Nitrate but high Nitrite

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Heath62

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am puzzled i have no ammonia or nitrates but have high nitrites. Im kinda new to this but my salt level is 1.024 and amm 0 no2 5 and no3 0. How is this possible nitrites break down into nitrates correct? If so how is this possible? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

I am puzzled i have no ammonia or nitrates but have high nitrites. Im kinda new to this but my salt level is 1.024 and amm 0 no2 5 and no3 0. How is this possible nitrites break down into nitrates correct? If so how is this possible? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

This means your aquarium is not cycled. You have to build up on bacteria that converts nitrite to nitrate. I hope you don't have fish yet.

I understand that but i did have nitrate at once it spiked to 160 then went down to 80 then gradually down until 0 but i still have nitrite thats why im puzzled.

I understand that but i did have nitrate at once it spiked to 160 then went down to 80 then gradually down until 0 but i still have nitrite thats why im puzzled.
You probably haven't built up enough bacteria or somehow you killed all your bacteria.

That's impossible, it doesn't work that way. Ammonia and nitrite are converted into nitrates which are removed by you via water changes.

That's impossible, it doesn't work that way. Ammonia and nitrite are converted into nitrates which are removed by you via water changes.
Nitrates can be removed via macroalgae, live rock, and in your sand bed. I'm sure you know that though. I'm willing to bet you just killed your bacteria somehow.

so then what do I do from here like i said im kinda new to this

well its not impossible i tested it twice with two different test kits