Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-26-2014, 10:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 11
Question No Ammonia or Nitrate but high Nitrite

I am puzzled i have no ammonia or nitrates but have high nitrites. Im kinda new to this but my salt level is 1.024 and amm 0 no2 5 and no3 0. How is this possible nitrites break down into nitrates correct? If so how is this possible? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Heath62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 11:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heath62 View Post
I am puzzled i have no ammonia or nitrates but have high nitrites. Im kinda new to this but my salt level is 1.024 and amm 0 no2 5 and no3 0. How is this possible nitrites break down into nitrates correct? If so how is this possible? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
This means your aquarium is not cycled. You have to build up on bacteria that converts nitrite to nitrate. I hope you don't have fish yet.
__________________

__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 06:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 11
I understand that but i did have nitrate at once it spiked to 160 then went down to 80 then gradually down until 0 but i still have nitrite thats why im puzzled.
__________________
Heath62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 07:50 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heath62 View Post
I understand that but i did have nitrate at once it spiked to 160 then went down to 80 then gradually down until 0 but i still have nitrite thats why im puzzled.
You probably haven't built up enough bacteria or somehow you killed all your bacteria.
__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 07:57 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heath62 View Post
I understand that but i did have nitrate at once it spiked to 160 then went down to 80 then gradually down until 0 but i still have nitrite thats why im puzzled.

That's impossible, it doesn't work that way. Ammonia and nitrite are converted into nitrates which are removed by you via water changes.
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 08:03 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedsReefs10 View Post
That's impossible, it doesn't work that way. Ammonia and nitrite are converted into nitrates which are removed by you via water changes.
Nitrates can be removed via macroalgae, live rock, and in your sand bed. I'm sure you know that though. I'm willing to bet you just killed your bacteria somehow.
__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 08:12 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 11
so then what do I do from here like i said im kinda new to this
__________________
Heath62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 08:15 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 11
well its not impossible i tested it twice with two different test kits
__________________
Heath62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 08:43 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Putnam, IL
Posts: 38
Heath I am following along here because I had the same issue. Did you by chance start your tank with tap water? That is what I did when I first started ( that is what my LFS said was the best) and boy was that a mistake. I started off with really high nitrates added a raw shrimp and thought all was going great when my ammonia spiked, then lowered...still had some nitrates though, then nitrite spiked and nitrates were at 0. Nitrites were still high and then all of a sudden my ammonia started appearing again after weeks of cycling. Now I am back to square 1. Been doing water changes with RO/DI water added a new shrimp and letting it do it's thing. Hopefully I am doing it right this time still not sure ...noob move on my part, but hey it's all about learning from your mistakes right?
__________________
bnr911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 08:48 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sillyfishies View Post
Nitrates can be removed via macroalgae, live rock, and in your sand bed. I'm sure you know that though. I'm willing to bet you just killed your bacteria somehow.

Macro will use nitrates but you need a lot for it to be really effective and there is a small amount of bacteria deep in the rocks that convert nitrates to co2 but not in the amount the op suggests. The majority of the bb in the tank convert ammo and nitrite to nitrates, which do not drop on their own (that's why we do wc's right?) at least not from 160ppm to 0 that would take a 100%wc.
__________________

__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, ate, nitrate, nitrite

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
low ish ammonia, high nitrite and high nitrate aawenwashere Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 0 08-20-2013 02:21 AM
Tank showing Ammonia and nitrate but not nitrite? patrickriley2010 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 05-22-2013 02:12 AM
0 Ammonia but high nitrite and nitrate! Diecypt Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 21 05-15-2013 09:08 PM
high nitrate and high nitrite ....HELP! bsdryder7 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 25 04-06-2011 11:10 AM
Amonia 0,...But Nitrate and Nitrite High tremor1002 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 04-25-2005 02:17 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.