Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-26-2014, 10:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Question No Ammonia or Nitrate but high Nitrite

I am puzzled i have no ammonia or nitrates but have high nitrites. Im kinda new to this but my salt level is 1.024 and amm 0 no2 5 and no3 0. How is this possible nitrites break down into nitrates correct? If so how is this possible? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Old 08-26-2014, 11:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heath62 View Post
I am puzzled i have no ammonia or nitrates but have high nitrites. Im kinda new to this but my salt level is 1.024 and amm 0 no2 5 and no3 0. How is this possible nitrites break down into nitrates correct? If so how is this possible? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
This means your aquarium is not cycled. You have to build up on bacteria that converts nitrite to nitrate. I hope you don't have fish yet.

3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 06:45 PM   #3

I understand that but i did have nitrate at once it spiked to 160 then went down to 80 then gradually down until 0 but i still have nitrite thats why im puzzled.
Old 08-27-2014, 07:50 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
I understand that but i did have nitrate at once it spiked to 160 then went down to 80 then gradually down until 0 but i still have nitrite thats why im puzzled.
You probably haven't built up enough bacteria or somehow you killed all your bacteria.
3g Pico Reef
Old 08-27-2014, 07:57 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Quote:

That's impossible, it doesn't work that way. Ammonia and nitrite are converted into nitrates which are removed by you via water changes.
Old 08-27-2014, 08:03 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote: