Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-28-2006, 04:08 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I haven't run charcoal in my filter for months. If your water becomes cloudy, you can run it for a week or so.
I'm not sure what this means, "The plastic medium?". Are you saying there is a piece of plastic dividing it? Originally, I was thinking you meant media. What is the brand and I'll take a look to see.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 04:12 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
I'll have to look when I get home. I got it from Petco.
Didn't expect to get the "bug" ( of marine keeping ) so I wanted to go cheap to begin with.

To describe it, it is like a plastic brillo pad. Only, about a half an inch thick, rectangular, and slides inbetween the charcoal pad and the out flow.
__________________

__________________
quixand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 04:48 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 66
Have you checked your water for nitrates before you put it in the tank?
__________________
rubikcube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 05:16 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubikcube
Have you checked your water for nitrates before you put it in the tank?
LOL! Good question!

Quote:
Originally Posted by quixand
To describe it, it is like a plastic brillo pad. Only, about a half an inch thick, rectangular, and slides inbetween the charcoal pad and the out flow.
Ok, I get the picture. Does it get a bunch of gunk caught in it? This probably help to slow down the flow of water back into the tank, so I probably not really an issue.
I would definitely test your tap for nitrAtes and rubikcube suggested.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 05:51 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
I use RO water. So it's not that.

The filter is a Deluxe aqua-tech 20-40 Power Filter.

Made by Marineland, it's the ghetto cheapo of the penguin. No bio-wheel.

I pulled the charcoal out. And to boot, not only did the clowns in QT die, but my PH died. Gotta love that.
__________________
quixand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 06:57 PM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Your clowns died, just now?

I'm sorry.

Was this filter on your QT?
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 07:37 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
No, the filter is on my main tank.

I'm absolutely gutted. I spent so much time and effort bringing them back....only to loose them.
It's par for the past week I suppose.
__________________
quixand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 11:27 AM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Quote:
Originally Posted by quixand
I use RO water. So it's not that.
RO water can still have no3 so test it to be sure. Only RO/DI water with proper filter replacements will give you 100% no3 free water.

Sorry to hear about your clowns Were they sick or did you just get them?

As the others said 10 ppm is not that high for a SW tank.

GAC is good every once in a while, especially if not running a skimmer. Once a week once a month is not long enough to clog up too much but long enough to remove DOC and clear up a tank quick.

Personally I use Purigen which works better then GAC.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 01:48 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Tec, that's of course what I ment LOL RO/DI.

Sorry.

Clowns were sick with Ich for about 2 weeks. Succumbed even in a QT.

Do you just throw the bag of purigen in your filter?
__________________
quixand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 03:04 PM   #20
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Quote:
Originally Posted by quixand
Do you just throw the bag of purigen in your filter?
Yes, you can put it either in your HOB/canister filter or a sump. Just needs to be in the water flow.

You can either buy it in bulk up to 1000 ml which doesn't come with the mesh bag or in 100 ml increments which come in a fine mesh bag.

If you buy it in bulk make sure you put it in a fine mesh bag before using. More info is on SeaChem's site

Considering the 100 ml bags treat up to 100 gal for up to 6 months it should be all you need.

You can regenerate it but I've never tried personally.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, filters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NO3 = 0.0 -- NO3 = 10ppm SKEET Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 07-18-2006 12:01 PM
chaetomorpha no3 ? Mghslowell Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 05-15-2006 05:01 PM
No3 help ! Mghslowell Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 05-03-2006 06:30 PM
Ca(NO3)2 contains ammonia!?!?!?!?!?! hashbaz Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 12 04-25-2006 12:38 PM
NO3 problem inspire0522 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 04-14-2006 09:52 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.