Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-14-2011, 12:16 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: illinois
Posts: 19
I just filled up my tank with tap water, its a 75 gallon havent added salt or fish yet but all things are on it like PS and filter. I didnt even know you werent supposed to use tap :0 should i take all of it out?
__________________

__________________
AddictiveAdam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 12:18 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by AddictiveAdam View Post
I just filled up my tank with tap water, its a 75 gallon havent added salt or fish yet but all things are on it like PS and filter. I didnt even know you werent supposed to use tap :0 should i take all of it out?
nah, just let it sit for a week or so
__________________

__________________
JMHuestis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 12:28 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
@AddictiveAdam, tap water has a lot of nutrients and contaminants in it. My tap water read 256 ppm total dissolved solids where as my RO/DI water reads 0 ppm. The extra stuff in the water can lead to algae outbreaks and be harmful or irritative to your tank inhabitants.

With that being said, I just mixed up 18 gallons of tap water with salt to do my water change tomorrow. It's necessary. I've had >1 ppm ammonia along with high nitrates after my huge cyano die off. I just didn't want to mention it publicly ;p
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 12:31 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: illinois
Posts: 19
Im new to it, so i just didnt know. I got this thing that is supposed to make tap water into fish water its a long cylinder shape with 2 tubes on the end.
__________________
AddictiveAdam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 12:35 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
It's okay, I didn't know either when I first started. Then I bought an RO/DI unit that hooks up under my sink. Unfortunately the plumbing to it is broken right now.

What do you have, exactly? Have a picture?
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 12:56 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: illinois
Posts: 19
Amazon.com: Aquarium Pharmaceuticals 175 Tap Water Filter, Filtration System for Fresh or Salt Water Aquariums: Pet Supplies
heres a link to the same product
__________________
AddictiveAdam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 12:57 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: illinois
Posts: 19
Aquarium Pharmaceuticals 175 Tap Water Filter, Filtration System for Fresh or Salt Water Aquariums type that into amazon or google and th eproduct will come up!
__________________
AddictiveAdam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 04:35 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
That looks like it's just DI water. You really should be using RO/DI. Get a cheap TDS meter and check how much stuff is in the water you're putting in your aquarium.

It really is a good thing to invest in (only like $15) to check how pure your water is in the future!
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 12:39 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Okay, so now my ammonia is .5, nitrites are .25 and nitrates are 40
I'd hate to do another PWC with tap water.
You think these levels are safe to leave for a week?
scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 01:53 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
scottayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,499
Well I got my plumbing parts today and hooked it up and it works.

However, it makes water way slower than it used to. This is how I broke the plumbing in the first place.. investigating why it wasn't making water as much as it used to.

What does it mean when my RO/DI unit is making water a lot slower than it used to? My pressure is good. And it's still reading 0ppm TDS, so I don't think the cartridges are bad or gunked up.
__________________

scottayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tap water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A primer on un-filtered aquariums BlackMagic Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 08-07-2011 08:25 PM
Aqueon Water Changer Success! & Nitrite? jmpgop Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 07-22-2011 06:35 PM
Learned about water cycling... after I got the fish. nicolebsb Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 07-22-2011 10:44 AM
fresh water sump user404 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 07-18-2011 04:23 PM
My tap water has ammonia in it cloud9 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 07-04-2011 01:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.