Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-29-2011, 11:08 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
The siphon break is for your return if the power goes out your return will become a siphon and flow back into your sump to my siphon will only drain to the bottom of the screens and will stay primed mine has always restarted itself every time it has lost power you can build this to set at whatever height you want in the water
__________________

__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 11:19 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 92
Ok, I get it. I have a check valve on my return line so I don't need a siphon break.

Now I'm wondering if I need 1 1/2 in pipes or maybe just 1 inch since my pump isn't as powerful as yours.
__________________

__________________
jeremy arsement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 11:29 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
I started with just one pipe but was not getting enough flow out of my tank so I added the second one So you might try it with just one keep in mind you can always put a ball vale in line to slow down the flow if needed
__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 11:31 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 92
Cool! Thanks for the advice.
__________________
jeremy arsement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 11:32 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
No problem Im not a expert on it but will try to help anyway I can
__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 12:39 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
Can you explain better the overflow box and pipework more clearly,flow rate from the overflow is governed only by 2 things.
1 return pump flow
2 overflow drain line.
If your overflow cant keep up with your return pump then the overflow box will submerse totally under water because more water flow is being pump up unless its emptying your return section of your sump.
Dont ever put any valves on the drain pipe from your overflow box,this can get blocked easily by algae or crap from the tank.if you want to slow the flow add a valve to the return pump pipework and throttle it down( normally pumps have a valve built in).Be careful doing this though, you need to keep the flow rate going through the box as close to its potential flow rate.this all needs to be considered when adding all this
So tell us what pump gph at what head loss on your system
what overflow box,and drain pipework sizes down to the sump.
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 11:12 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 92
My overflow box is pretty simple. It's just a one gallon pitcher. Used 3/4 in PVC for the bulkhead fitting and drain line. Have 2, 1/2 in vinyl tubing running to it. Each coming from 1 in pipes in the tank.
__________________
jeremy arsement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 03:38 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
any chance of a photo?
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 03:15 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 92
Here's the photos of my current overflow. In the process of redesigning it. It can't seem to keep up with my pump.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1356919980.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	46.8 KB
ID:	38914   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-771768167.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	64.3 KB
ID:	38915  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4094254328.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	38916  
__________________
jeremy arsement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 06:32 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
well for a start you have a pump which pump up to 800 gph and a drain pipe which can only handle 660gph,you need to up grade your drain pipe to at least 1".You also have 2 1/2" hoses which are easily blocked and will cause you problems later,change these to 1" hose or try to buy just the syphon pipe from lets say an eshopps.These overflows also work very well and are quite reasonable to buy.It is imperative that an overflow syphon is built correctly if your going the DIY route,You could even make the u pipe with 1" pvc using long radius bends to help with flow rate.
So
1. the drain pipe must be rated at a higher flow rate then the syphon pipe/pipes
2. The pump after head loss should be rated at a maximum of just below the gph of the syphon pipe( if pipe is 800 gph get pump after headloss pumps 750gph)
3. the pump after headloss minimum gph should be no lower than 85% of the syphon flowrate(if syphon pipe is 800 gph then pump minmum gph is 680)
4. You can put a valve into the return pipe to throttle down the flow but never put one in the drain pipework.

The flowrate going through the syphon pipe needs to be as high as possible so the flow pushes any bubbles through the the other side otherwise an air break will occur and flooding.
hope I've explained this enough for you
David
__________________

__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow, siphon, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overflow siphon design vemax General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 04-13-2011 02:54 PM
gph for overflow siphon?????? mistermismatch General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 22 01-18-2011 04:52 AM
how to start overflow siphon Fierro Nights Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-22-2008 03:19 PM
overflow box siphon tamra&steven General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 07-04-2008 08:38 PM
U shaped or siphon tube overflow better? Yao General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 04-15-2006 12:27 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.