Oxygen issues?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

skl3560

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi! This is my first time posting so bear with me.

I set up a salt water tank back in august and have had no issues until the last month or so. Just over a month ago, I had a major ammonia spike that led to the death of my butterfly fish. I know that some of you will ask if the tank had cycled. I allowed it several weeks with roughly 80 lbs of live sand and I watched the ammonia cycle and allowed it to stay level at no reading for a couple of weeks before adding my fish. The fish had managed to stay happy and healthy until i saw the butterfly gasping for breath at the bottom. I checked the ammonia levels and they were through the roof. I immediately changed the water to get it under control but the fish was gone.

The ammonia since then has been under control until about 2 weeks ago. It has been reading high on my test strips and I have since performed partial water changes several times with no change in ammonia level. My fish however seem to be doing fine with the toxic levels present in the aquarium. My first question is why would the ammonia stay this high for a prolonged amount of time and why is it for the most part not affecting my fish?