Peculiar Yellow Wrasse?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

andira23

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Okay, here is my first post as I am a total newbie to the SW world

I've had my FOWLR 29 gal tank for about 3 months now.
Inhabitants are:
1 - Fire Shrimp
1 - 3 stripe damsel
1 - Maroon Clown
1 - Panther Grouper (Yes I know he'll grow BIG but I want to keep him until he grows a little. His personality is totally cool)

Yesterday I added a yellow wrasse to the mix from my LFS. I don't have a QT because I'm still new, but I did make sure that the wrasse had been at the store for about 2 weeks and that he ate before I took him. He looks perfect as well - no signs of distress at all.

I acclimated him to my tank and when I let him loose he instantly burried himself into the sandy substrate. I knew this was normal. This morning he came out to play. No one bugs him but he only hangs out at the very top of the tank. He swims about very much but will never go more than 2 inches below the surface. Any ideas whats up?

My water stats are:
ph 8.0
salinity 1.022
amonia 0
nitrite 0
nitrate 10
temp 75

First off Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com :)

A couple off issues I see right off the top. Your temp is rather low for these types of animals. Over the next week or so very slowly raise that up to about 78-80°. It will make a difference. The saiinity is also on the lower side but if just fish you could get away with that. Since you have inverts, I would strongly recommend raising the salinity to 35 ppt (1.025 SG). Only raise it 0.001 each day though. Too quickly on either change will stress the animals..