Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-01-2013, 09:57 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Unhappy Peppermint Shrimp Died :(

I'm new to saltwater fish only (live rock). In the past two months, I lost an emerald crab, green chromis and now my peppermint shrimp died. My water tests normal salinity at 1.021...what am I doing wrong? Not overpopulated..in the 30 gallon tank I also have several hermit crabs, a cleaner shrimp, and six one inch fish.

Thanks for any advice you may have. Claudia

Old 10-01-2013, 10:30 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

do you have the parameters for the tank? pH, amonia, nitrate, nitrite? alk and mag can come later but not important for the moment. did you cycle the tank properly? what are the 6 1inch fish you're referring to? with that many deaths, it would be logical to think that maybe your tank is still cycling. a picture of your tank would be nice to start

Old 10-01-2013, 10:30 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist

Did you add any supplements to your tank recently? If so what types? What type of lighting do you have?
Old 10-01-2013, 01:44 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Claudia Jean View Post
I'm new to saltwater fish only (live rock). In the past two months, I lost an emerald crab, green chromis and now my peppermint shrimp died. My water tests normal salinity at 1.021...what am I doing wrong? Not overpopulated..in the 30 gallon tank I also have several hermit crabs, a cleaner shrimp, and six one inch fish.

Thanks for any advice you may have. Claudia