Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-15-2012, 08:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
Phosphate issues

I have a 56 gallon tank and phosphate issues. I use RO/DI water and have cut back feeding my fish to once a day. I only have two fish in my tank and when I feed, I am feeding very sparingly. I'm changing my water once a week at 15-20% and still can't get my levels to 0. What am I doing wrong?
__________________

__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 08:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Keep up with water changes.. What are you using for filtration and do you use a protein skimmer?
__________________

__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 08:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
I'm having phosphate issues too.. LFS said to run GFO in the filter, and keep up with water changes. Could also get a phosphate reactor because it works better with GFO as it tumbles it instead of running water around it. You need to also figure out what's causing phosphates. Mine was using tap water originally, and water changes will hopefully eventually help knock it out with the GFO...
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 09:03 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
I do have a protein skimmer but haven't really collected anything. I have something to help remove the phosphates however I have no idea the source from which it's coming from and need to do so before I get any unwanted algae growth. Thank you for your reply! I will try what I have to bring it down until I can get things figured out!
__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 09:20 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Add anything lately? Live rock, fish... New filter media...?
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 09:25 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
You will never get them to 0. It's not possible. Gfo in a reactor will certainly help, so will algae turf scrubbers, macro algae, and reduced feedings.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 09:27 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nikki_kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 874
I wish I could say that I had added or changed anything but I haven't. I've already reduced the feedings.
__________________
nikki_kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 09:49 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Feed every other day.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 09:53 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by crister13
Feed every other day.
+1 I feed my tank every third day and have no issues with everything staying close to 0. Unless you have fish that require frequent feedings then they are much better off not eating every day mainly cause of water quality and secondly they really don't need it
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 10:07 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Nikki.

Your on the right track in wanting to find the source. Consider this, phosphates come from food and waste. You are not over feeding by any means and you are not overstocked. So this means you have waste sitting/trapped somewhere in your system. Heres a few places it could be hiding:

Sand bed (not just on the surface)
Filter floss or media
Live Rock
Dirty equipment (food clogged powerheads, detritus riddled sump, skimmer, refugium etc.
__________________

__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
phosphate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.