Please review and comment on my 55 gal fowlr setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

elzool

Aquarium Advice Regular
Yeah, I'm new at this.

Had a 10 gallon freshwater setup for a month now, wanted a 55 fowlr to start with, but the wife said no, lets start small.

Last week she came to me and asked about a bigger tank.

So I'm doing research and going from store to store and looking online and still don't know exactly what I am looking for/at.

I'm looking at a 55 gallon tank which is the biggest tank we have room for.

After hitting several stores, I've settled on one to do my shopping from. I would buy online if I knew more about what I was doing and since I don't I'm relying on my lfs to help me along.

With their help and yours, I'm hoping I don't screw this up too much.

I'm looking at:

55 Gal aquarium
Fluval 304 Canister Filter
Vecton UV Sterilizer
Heater, Submersible
NO Lighting
Air Pump & Stone
Power Head (1)
Various Fittings
Substrate
Live Rock (25-30 lbs)

Any more thoughts suggestions or ideas?

Thanks,
elzool

Is this FOWLR to start, converting to reef later, or is it going to stay FOWLR?

You may consider a reef ready 55 gallon, so you have the option of adding a sump easily. A sump can make some maintenance easier, is a nice place to tuck a small refugium and is astheticly pleasing in that it maintains the display at a constant water level and hides your filtration/heating below the stand.

There is debate about the usefulness of UV sterilizers. I wouldn't get it if you want to go reef someday, you'll need some of those microscopic critter to survive and be food for corals. Good for fish only.

Canister filter is good for fish only. If you're going to go reef, a protien skimmer and some extra power heads would serve you better.

Submersable heater good.