Powerhead gone crazy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

POLARBEAR0871

Aquarium Advice Addict
I'm new to this salt water aquariums I just bought a powerless since I'm doing a filter less tank and its making my tank all cloudy I have the power head at the bottom of the tank facing up and to the side an it's still some how making it cloudy it's making me really mad plus I have foam that won't go away

I'm new to this salt water aquariums I just bought a powerless since I'm doing a filter less tank and its making my tank all cloudy I have the power head at the bottom of the tank facing up and to the side an it's still some how making it cloudy it's making me really mad plus I have foam that won't go away

what kind of substrate? what size tank and what powerhead? the foam happened on my nano and went away with water changes

It's live sand with live rock and its a 40g tank an the power head is a Aquatop Circulating Pump

what size powerhead did you get? It will tell you the size or (gph) on the box. These powerheads are rated at gallons per hour (gph) and with your 40 gallon tank, a 500-700 gallon per hour (gph) powerhead is recommended and I would think 700 gph would be too much....if your powerhead is within gph range you just need to move it up from the sandbed and point it toward the surface or middle of the tank...If you still have problems you might want to go to a smaller powerhead.

Yeah, putting it on the sandbed is your problem, circulation pumps should be high enough to not blow sand around, mine are all near the top with the flow pointing various directions.

in a 40g you want about 400gph so you would want at least another one of those powerheads. as for placement move it around until it is not disturbing the sand bed