Powerhead situation

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Flaxon-Waxon

Aquarium Advice Addict
Thanks for reading... I'm a NOOB, so please be as helpful as possible without judging :cool: I have a 55 gallon FOWLR, and originally had a Koralia Evo 1400, but had a HUGE dead spot behind a piece of rock and under the filter. I added another Koralia 550, and it seems to be pushing water through there now. Is this a good GPH or am I going a bit high?

You really can't go too high. Imagine the flow in the ocean. A lot of people have over 50x flow rate through their tanks.

I always say the more flow the better. I have been having issues with flow in my 55 so I keep taking PHs out of my 36. I just took the last PH out of my 36 today. This won't be a major issue as it is FOWLR...but it will need replaced in the near future.

Benamayer said:
Thanks for reading... I'm a NOOB, so please be as helpful as possible without judging :cool: I have a 55 gallon FOWLR, and originally had a Koralia Evo 1400, but had a HUGE dead spot behind a piece of rock and under the filter. I added another Koralia 550, and it seems to be pushing water through there now. Is this a good GPH or am I going a bit high?

Not to high at all, the only limiting factors are how much you can have before sand blows everywhere and/or corals are affected but since this a is FOWLR thats not an issue. Fish can handle way more flow then we usually even consider for a tank.

I have around that much flow in my 29g reef lol

Thanks crister, sniper, and schism...that was my
gut feeling, but I didn't want to cycle the tank, and then put a fish in there and watch him get pushed around all over the place!

I have 2x 2400l/h, 1x900l/h Koralia ph and the return from my filter plus my skimmer, plenty of flow in my 46g reef corner tank, I have no dead spots and the fish seem happy,