Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-28-2011, 02:04 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
You could use a cuc or just manually vacuum your sand or rock.
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 01:26 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
mikewest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 47
So I just tested my water and the ph had risen to 8.4 so could the change in ph kill my fish and why would the power head change the ph.
__________________

__________________
mikewest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 05:04 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
more gas exchange at the surface would change ph.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 09:03 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
mikewest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 47
How do I stabilize the ph?
__________________
mikewest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 12:45 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
keep gas exchange steady. use calcium based substrate and/or live rock in the tank, or both.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 01:00 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 387
Out of curiosity, how long has the tank been running with that bioload and have you tested the water at all other than the PH? 8.4 is high, but its still within safe parameters...though I suppose a very rapid rise could cause the problem. Unless that powerhead is riffling the surface, however, its unlikely to cause a very rapid spike....

I suspect it is likely something other than the powerhead that would have caused the issue. For a powerhead to actually kill a fish...I mean...it would have to be REALLY blasting...
__________________
Mitch
72 Bow
firefish, ocellaris clown fish
caulastrea, green star polyps, palythoa, zoas
bighabeeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 12:59 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
mikewest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 47
I've had my tank for about 4 months now and none of my fish had ever died, I read online that in order to reduce the power heads current you can point it twords the surface so I did for about 2-3 hours before I turned it off. I did test for ammonia, and nitrogen and they were usual.
__________________
mikewest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 02:55 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Breezyrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 276
IMO I think that's too much current in the 29 gal. I use a 425 in my 29 gal. I'm not an expert tho and new to the trade. But the 425 gives really good circulation in my tank.
__________________
Breezyrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 03:33 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I used 2 750 Koralias in my 29g and never had any issues at all. It's all a matter of placement and angles.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 12:04 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Breezyrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by carey
I used 2 750 Koralias in my 29g and never had any issues at all. It's all a matter of placement and angles.
Wow!! Wish I woulda stuck with my 750 then my fish were flying all over the place! Guess I had it wrongly positioned
__________________

__________________
Breezyrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
powerhead, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank upgrade size & position decisions librarygirl Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 12-23-2011 03:09 PM
Ammonia 8ppm, will not go down, newer tank Jen.Cavanaugh Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 18 12-22-2011 02:53 PM
Am I doing this right? (Betta died, prepping tank for new one) mandy2936 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 10-02-2011 03:06 PM
New 29 Gallon Tank Setup Lioness2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 08-07-2011 06:38 PM
Advice on newish (and first) tropical/fresh 10 gallon... FoxGlove Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 07-25-2011 01:22 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.