Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-29-2006, 06:37 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
jawfishjunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 85
Powerheads:Quantity,Placement,Model

hello again,

65 gallon FOWLER

How many power heads do I need

Where do I place them?

How should I direct Flow?

Please suggest a good , quiet, AFFORDABLE model.

Thanks for All!
__________________

__________________
jawfishjunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 10:19 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I have a 55G and use two phs. Generally folks like to put the at opposite ends of the tank, facing eachother and facing slightly to the surface, for gas exchange.

These are pretty good:
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/Produc...&N=2004+113040

I also use my filter for water movement.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 10:42 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
2-3 Phs, situated like Roka64 suggested.

I use the Maxijets. The 1200s or 900s, or combination.

As long as your sand isn't stirring up too much, can't have too much flow IMO. Keeps fish healthier too I believe.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 11:39 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
jawfishjunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 85
How are they anchored?

My only experience with them are as toppers to undergravel filters anchored by the big filter tubes.

Do you just suspend them by their chords mid-way in the tank? They would probably be flailing around like crazy,right?

Are they anchored in the Live-Rock?

Thanks for replies
__________________
jawfishjunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 01:01 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
How are they anchored?
Generally suction cups.
Quote:
They would probably be flailing around like crazy,right?
That and the tapping niose would drive you nuts!
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 04:15 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 29
I use the Maxi Jet 1200, it mounts to the inside of the tank with 3 suction cups. It is also fully submersible so you could adjust it to the height you want inside the tank. I like it best because it is silent, I don't even know it is on. Just be sure to put a sponge filter over the intake to avoid clogging the moving parts.
Hope this helped
__________________
bamboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 07:00 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 36
I would agree, I have a 55gal with 3 Maxi Jet 1200
2 on one side and 1 on the other. I've got one half way down in the tank and the other 2 about 1/4 the way down.
It seams to work really well.
the one that is half way down is pushing water behind my LR the other 2 are pushing water toward each other and up to the surface.

The one thing I will mention is there on a wave maker power strip, because when they were all on at once it was heating my water up to about 83degrees. Now there on a 2 minute cycle which has help with the heat. However I live in Phoenix which more than likely has something to do with it also.
__________________

__________________
it512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
powerheads

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
looking for small quantity LR... newfound77951 Archive 0 07-24-2006 11:26 AM
Placement of Powerheads aravindk General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 02-21-2006 05:04 PM
Placement of powerheads MarkW19 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 10-17-2004 03:05 PM
Placement of new powerheads? jamal-188 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 11-09-2003 11:17 PM
Placement of powerheads jhmuse Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-14-2003 04:23 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.