prob with nitrites and nitrates after 6 month old tank...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AnnnetteM

Aquarium Advice Regular
This is my first time here, but I have probs with NO2 and NO3. Here is my set-up and levels....
ph 8.2, cal 450, amm below.25 but not quite 0, nitrates 10, nitrites .2
set-up: trickle filter w/bio-balls, protein skimmer, UV ster, chiller, 2 powerheads besides return head, 110 gal tank, PC w/moonlights. I hace a mixed live sand sub4 in", 100 lbs LR. Use carbon constant and supp w/kent products, phosguard bags, nitrate sponge. I am stocked with 1 unicorn tang 6", pink anthias 5", 4 perculas, 1 blue damsel(I know but couldn't get out after cycling 6 months ago and all is ok so far), a mandarin, 2 cleaner shrimp, 5 peppermint, 2 sandsifting starfish, 5 horseshoe crabs, 50 turbos, 75 hermits, 1 star polyp, and some common polys came on LR. I have done 50 gal worth of wtaer change w/mix Red sea and r/o water. I always top off with r/o. What could be the prob? I already had a battle w/ich and need to get this stuff down. I am using TheraP to try to get levels down, but it's not working. Any sugg? I am also getting a lot of green on my rocks that is starting to take over. Need help, thanks

Do you vaccum your sandbed? If so how often? How often do you feed and what are you feeding? What are you dosing?