Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-01-2013, 11:23 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 298
Qt tank

I have a used to be freshwater tank that is now is empty I'm thinking of selling it for some money for the sw tank but I heard keeping an extra qt tank helps a lot what should I do
__________________

__________________
Damarferg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 02:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
You could use it as a sump and or a refugium. I have a 30 gallon connected with a over flow box as a refugium if i need to I can turn off the pump and it's separate from my system. If I need to treat with Meds I can move rocks and plants to my sump. What size tanks are you talking about?
__________________

__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 02:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezy33
You could use it as a sump and or a refugium. I have a 30 gallon connected with a over flow box as a refugium if i need to I can turn off the pump and it's separate from my system. If I need to treat with Meds I can move rocks and plants to my sump. What size tanks are you talking about?
The qt tank is a 45
__________________
Damarferg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 03:50 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Airgoose2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 442
How big will the new tank be? I would definitely keep a QT tank. I made the mistake of not using one and it bit me in the arse. Luckily, I had some spare tanks around to set up quickly to treat a couple fish with ich. If that's bigger than what you want, you could sell it and get a smaller one depending on the type of fish you're getting.
__________________
Airgoose2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 04:49 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airgoose2222
How big will the new tank be? I would definitely keep a QT tank. I made the mistake of not using one and it bit me in the arse. Luckily, I had some spare tanks around to set up quickly to treat a couple fish with ich. If that's bigger than what you want, you could sell it and get a smaller one depending on the type of fish you're getting.
The new tank is 70 gallons and thanks on what you said I will be keeping the qt tank don't want any sick fish
__________________
Damarferg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 03:38 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: new york
Posts: 282
for what you could sell the 45 for wouldnt even be worth it imo keep it not having a qt is like playing russian roulette
__________________

__________________
90 gallon (fowler)
75 gallon (community)
55 gallon (fowlr)
10 gallon (quarantine)
chiclidlover81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
qt tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.