Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-20-2015, 11:01 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Glen Rock PA
Posts: 7
Quarantine tank - Do I need to cycle?

Setting up a quarantine tank after not adding fish to my 150 gal FOWLR tank for 2 years. I have had a bag of ceramic filter media in the sump for 4 weeks. Can I take water from my tank and the filter media to setup the quarantine tank without going through a tank cycle? I plan to monitor the ammonia and nitrates for at least a week.
__________________

__________________
cuzzin65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 07:58 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
You do not need to cycle the tank, but you will want to monitor the parameters and be ready for water changes. Using the media might get you some beneficial bacteria, which can't hurt. I'm not sure I would add tank water, as it should not have much BB but could have nitrates.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 08:40 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Glen Rock PA
Posts: 7
Thanks for the advice. I thought using main tank water would help. I have been battling nitrates for a while. It was under 10 yesterday. It would be better to use new water.
__________________
cuzzin65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2015, 04:56 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cichlid-dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,560
Yes use new water. There is very little bacteria in the water collumn. I would add the cycled media though.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Cichlid-dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, quarantine, quarantine tank, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there really a need to cycle a quarantine tank? Nortzy21 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 03-20-2014 06:24 PM
Fishless Cycle and Quarantine Period fish4phil Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 12-14-2013 02:49 PM
Quickest way to cycle a quarantine tank? Monzie Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 05-30-2013 09:21 PM
How to cycle a Quarantine Tank? grimes135 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 14 12-02-2006 01:27 PM
What I need for a quarantine tank? mskohl Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 07-01-2005 03:30 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.