Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-27-2014, 02:15 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Pimp My Fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 103
Quarantine Tank Questions

My non quarantined YCG died of ich about four weeks ago, leaving my display tank empty. In about a week or two, I plan to try again except this time I'll quarantine my goby. I have a 10 gallon FOWLR and plan to set up a 10 gallon QT, but I have a few questions.

1. Do I have to Cycle my QT?

2. If I don't, how frequent would I have to change the water to maintain stable parameters?

3. What is a good amount of time to Quarantine the clown goby to make sure it is parasite free?

4. I currently have a bare bottom tank, heater, some terracotta pots, and an aqueon HOB filter. Do I need anything else?

5. If I am not running medication, should I put carbon in my filter?


Any help is appreciated!
__________________

__________________
Pimp My Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 03:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Maridia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 480
I wanted to know those as well.
__________________

__________________
Maridia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 05:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kenner, louisiana
Posts: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishkeeper81 View Post
My non quarantined YCG died of ich about four weeks ago, leaving my display tank empty. In about a week or two, I plan to try again except this time I'll quarantine my goby. I have a 10 gallon FOWLR and plan to set up a 10 gallon QT, but I have a few questions.



1. Do I have to Cycle my QT?



2. If I don't, how frequent would I have to change the water to maintain stable parameters?



3. What is a good amount of time to Quarantine the clown goby to make sure it is parasite free?



4. I currently have a bare bottom tank, heater, some terracotta pots, and an aqueon HOB filter. Do I need anything else?



5. If I am not running medication, should I put carbon in my filter?





Any help is appreciated!

1. Yes you should have a cycled qt tank. You can use some media from the dt to seed the qt.
2. Ammo and frites should be little to none.
3. 4 weeks is the minimum I qt as long as there are no signs of parasites/ich
4. That's all I use for my qt tank.
5. If you want carbon. I don't use anything but meds when needed.
__________________
somethingsfishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
quarantine, quarantine tank, question, questions, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quarantine tank and new tank questions wildroseofky Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 01-01-2013 09:58 PM
quarantine tank questions JustOneMore20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 07-12-2006 02:29 PM
Quarantine tank questions blorkiemom Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 07-20-2004 10:26 PM
2 Questions: Quarantine Tank and Fish Load johnkristie Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 7 02-13-2004 11:59 AM
Setting up my quarantine tank: questions leafyseadragon Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 12-30-2003 01:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.