Quarentine Tank, please help :)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

arsenalkt

Aquarium Advice Regular
Soooo..here's the situation, I'm really hoping someone can help me out. I'm fairly new to the aquarium keeping world, I've had a 75 g tank established for about 7 months now. I have a puffer that has been on and off with ich for a while now and now he's looking rather hot and bothered..he's eating, but other then that he's not looking so good. I want to set up a quarentine tank to put him in, but wonder if there's any point since it's obviously in my tank now..my huma trigger has it as well. I've been treating with herbtana, which has shown some success in the past with him, and did a freshwater dip today for him. Now as far as setting up a Quarantine, am i suppose to use water from the main tank, and then treat him with the appropriate medications, etc. Also I've heard yes to using a filter in Q tanks and no other places..would an aerator and frequent water changes due? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
:thanks:

Water from your DT can be used. Whatever Ich is in it will be killed off by the Hyposalinity or copper that you will use to treat the fish. If your fish are in QT, you leave your DT fallow for 6-8 weeks and whatever Ich you have in there will die off due to not having a host. In the end you have a clean tank and you are putting clean fish back in. QT future additions and treat if necessary and your DT should stay disease free.

You can use a filter and you may still need partial water changes due to the QT not being cycled. Keep an eye on your parameters. Go bare bottom with some PVC pieces for hiding. I have a little power head for water flow.