Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-23-2012, 05:53 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Emonger88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Harrisonburg, Va
Posts: 10
Red or Brown algae/bacteria problem please help

Hello everyone,
I'm fairly new to saltwater aquariums and recently purchased a 75g saltwater aquarium off of a guy i work with. This guy just completly ignored this tank and everything in it. Getting to the point the tank has about 60-70lbs of live rock and ive had the tank setup now for alil over a month and when i got the tank the rocks where pretty bare(no coraline algae etc) and now its a redish looking brown substance covering the rock and the coraline algae that had begun to take off. All my water paramaters are good execpt the nitrates are around 20ppm. The tanks runs 2 rena xp2 canisters and a penguin bio wheel 350. I also have 2 powerheads at opposite ends. Tank inhabitants are percula clownfish,blue hippo tank,teardrop butterfly,chocolate chip starfish, and a scarlet cleaner shrimp and 5 turbo snails and some small crabs. Ill post up some pics and if someone could help me identify the algae/bacteria i would appreciate it. It really doest look like "red slime" algae. It has a brown and redish color to it and im also seeing some green algae.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120123_164852.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	67.8 KB
ID:	72785   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120123_164928.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	63.1 KB
ID:	72786  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120123_164959.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	66.4 KB
ID:	72787   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120123_165038.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	62.8 KB
ID:	72788  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120123_165140.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	65.3 KB
ID:	72789  
__________________

__________________
Emonger88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 06:05 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Emonger88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Harrisonburg, Va
Posts: 10
Heres a few more close pictures of some of whats happening on the lr. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120123_170311.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	68.9 KB
ID:	72792   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120123_170335.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	68.7 KB
ID:	72793  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120123_170400.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	64.6 KB
ID:	72794   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120123_170421.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	69.6 KB
ID:	72795  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120123_170441.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	72796   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120123_170510.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	67.0 KB
ID:	72798  

__________________

__________________
Emonger88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 09:05 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
Looks like diatoms to me. When moving the tank if to did not clean the sand, or the rocks were out of water too long- their may have been die off in the rocks and the sand not being cleaned and shuffled around in the move could have caused some unfun stuff to surface and cause a cycle. Usually as diatoms arrive it means the cycle is over
__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 11:20 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Emonger88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Harrisonburg, Va
Posts: 10
The move transition took bout a 2 hours but the LR stayed in tank water that we put in a plastic tote. We saved about 50g of the original water and i replaced the other 25g with D/I water. Whats the best method to get rid of these diatoms/algae. I purchased some ChemiClean but am hessitant to use it becuse id rather not turn my tank into a big medicine bowl.
__________________
Emonger88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 04:29 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
Diatoms go away on their own in time.
__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 04:30 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
And phosphate media isn't a medicine. It's like carbon for phosphates. It sits in a media bag in your sump for months until it turns brown and you switch it out.
__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 05:47 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Emonger88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Harrisonburg, Va
Posts: 10
Thanks for the info. Correct me if im wrong but i was under the impression "diatoms" consumed nitrates. That being said the im wondering why i still have a nitrate level of around 20ppm? Im thinking im nearing the end of the cycling because all other water parameters are good. In both of my rena xp2's im using 2 20ppi and 2 30ppi filters in the lower basket and in the upper basket im using the ceramic rings so maybe ill get a good phosphate media for atleast one of them.
__________________
Emonger88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 07:20 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
You could actually have a reading higher than 20 ppm if the algae wasn't there. Most algaes throw off water reading btw.
__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 03:03 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
I too just finished my cycle and am experiencing golden diatoms in my 75G. I am limiting the light (6hrs or so per day) and also going to do a 35-40% water change this weekend (I have been doing 15% changes weekly while cycling). I also think it's time for me to get some snails in there as well as some phosphate media.

I agree with Jlsardina, algae and diatoms throw off readings. Yes diatoms consume nitrates but if they (diatoms) weren't in there your nitrate levels would be through the roof. The reason is the diatoms are consuming as much as they possible can and what you are left with in your tests is the remainder they haven't consumed.

Keep us posted!
__________________

__________________
Fred-O is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, bacteria, brown algae

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AquaClear HOB filter leaking - anyone else have this problem? hbeth82 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 10-03-2011 02:20 PM
brown algae help lazynessadept Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 0 09-25-2011 04:09 PM
Weird Plant problem Ellenquacker72 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 09-15-2011 11:46 PM
Coralline Algae = Good Brown Algae = BAD americanbambam Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 7 08-08-2011 04:50 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.