Relocating a FOWLR tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BsNana

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone :flasingsmile:

I'm new to sw tanks and to this forum. I have been planning on a sw tank for quite sometime and have researched for about 6 months. I hope that I'm ready. I found a great deal on a FOWLR set up. It's not going to cost anything out of my pocket (until I get it haha) just trading a bird cage that I have for her setup.

I will be getting my first sw tank on Saturday. It's a 30 gallon, LR with a 15 gallon sump, skimmer and everything else she had with it. It has 2 clowns, 2 lemon damsel, 2 tellow tailed blue damsel and 1 black & white stripe damsel. It also has 2 crabs (not sure what kind) a few shrimp and some snails. Oh and a condy anemone. She has had this tank for 3 years.

My question is how is the best way to relocate it with the least about of stress on the fish and keeping it from recycling or at least keeping the recycling to a minimum. It will be traveling about 70/75 miles.

Stirring up sand can definitely cause another cycle. I'd consider getting new sand ready, using it with the existing liverock, filter media if applicable and about 50-60% of the existing water to set up with.

Gonna need clean tubs or containers for the move and keep everything airated (with oxygen) at least.

Welcome to AA too!! :) :)

good advice from austinsdad,i would wait on moving the fish if possible at the last minute.try to get set up first,so the tank has time to settle.of course this is my opinion. i've had my 75gal (fowlr) for 8wks.the less sterss on the fish the better.good luck!