Research!,Research!,Research!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

seafan

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I'm getting my first SW aquarium, but I have to wait until december to get it :( . I've been doing research for over two months now and still don't know what fish to get. Two questions.
1. How long did you do research?
2. What fish should I get?

P.S I want a 50 gal fish, lr, inverts habitat with a dsb and a remora protein filter for filtration.

I gotta feeling if you continue to research until December and watch AA threads, you'll be ready in December. What book(s) have ya read so far. I always suggest Robert Fenner's "Conscientious Marine Aquarist". Got 2 months or so to absorb that. 8)

Gonna do coral? :?: That'll make a huge difference in the fish you can get too.

Good luck!

I just started my first SW tank 75 gal bowfront this week. I researched and lurked on here until I felt I was ready. I spent about 3 months researching before I took the "dive" into salt water. Good luck to you....and to me as well.....

1. A couple of months. But intensely. :)
2. I don't think anyone can tell you this--we all have our faves. One book--Fenner, I think? talks about choosing your one, must-have centerpiece species and then building the rest of your livestock around that. So is there one fish you just gotta have? Start there.

1. How long did you do research?

I spent a few eeks reading before I bought my tank.
My tank is 2 months old and not a day goes by that I dont do some research.

2. What fish should I get?

Really depends on what sorta set up you are doing.
FO, FOWLR, Do you want corals.

Do you want aggressive or community fish?

The size of your tank will also dictate what you can and cant get

Good Luck, this hobby is a load of fun!