ro/di water

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

snickers450

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
hey guys..newbie here..is it ok for me to use tap water for my tank..i do not have money to buy a ro/di machine right now..i was told that tap water is a no..no..:(

If you have corals, I would say no, but if you don't have corals, then yes you can. Just get a quality dechlorinator like prime. It WILL contribute to algae problems though.

i would not put corals in it..strictly FOWLR..so using dechlorinator could cause algae?..

Should i just use tap water..test it then go on with my busines..any advise guys..im really short on budget for ro/di..:(

If you can, get the RO/DI, if you can't afford it, use treated tap water until you can get the RO/DI. That's what I did.

I know I'm another newb to the forum, but not quite new to phishies, so I'll put my flame suit on....

If you are too pinched for a $150 RO/DI system, should you be getting into SW right now?? If you added up all the silly little expenditures that you will spend, plus salt, fish, LR, etc.... you could easily have an RO/DI for your fish's best quality of life if you just waited a little while.

$123 will get you started.... http://www.buckeyefieldsupply.com/showproducts.asp?Category=167&Sub=166

Last edited:
Well, the reason i ran out of money was because i bought all of the stuff that i need excep the ro/di machine..im looking at a portable ro/di for $65..

If you use prime you must let the water mix with a power head for at least several days for it to be effective...

There is this company called Brita I heard that they make good products that help to purify water and they are cheaper than an RO unit...

mysticeel said:
If you use prime you must let the water mix with a power head for at least several days for it to be effective...