Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-20-2014, 06:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Maridia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 480
Ro water question

I just got a new RO unit. TDS is 0ppm for out water. Water in is 12-14ppm. Is this considered high? Or the norm? I get city water. Any thoughts? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Maridia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 07:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Macscale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lakewood Ranch, Florida.
Posts: 2,850
Ro water question

If it's coming out 0 then don't worry. That's good though, I've heard of up to 400ppm+.
__________________

__________________
55g Reef Build
Macscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 09:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,117
Ro water question

Mine goes in at 20ish and comes out 0. 12-14 is fine.
__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 02:29 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Maridia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 480
So my existing 4 stage should last a bit, I imagine. Before changing filters.
__________________
Maridia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 08:13 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 234
My water coming in is 135-140. Leaving the RO filter is 2, leaving the DI is supposed to be 0. Mine has been at 0-1 recently because I need to change the resin.
__________________
Jasonrusso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 09:06 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Maridia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 480
I checked again this morning, it was at 7-9ppm going in, I guess it varies. What is a better gauge? Wait until ro starts producing 1-2ppm tds, or wait until the resin completely or partly changes color? This the 1st time I've had a brs 4-stage. Another question I have is, when it's time to change the resin, do the other 2 filters also need changed? I guess I only gathered that the pre filters should be changed every 3-6 months, depending on water quality and the ro membrane every 3 years! I got the plus version, so I have that ro membrane flush feature. Any input or exp that anyone might have is greatly appreciated. Thanks
__________________
Maridia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 04:43 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 234
I'm getting ready to change it all up (minus the membrane) I have a 5 stage and I change the filters when the TDS readings get to one or two. My resin is probably 70% orange but it obviously isn't doing the job anymore. My suggestion is to get a double inline TDS meter from BRS, and put it before and after the DI. Put a "t" between the RO output and the DI. Run the system with the DI shut off until the readings from the RO come down (they usually spike when first turned on. RO filters need flow to work and they build up TDS when not flowing). This will help the resin last longer.
__________________
Jasonrusso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 07:44 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Maridia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 480
Oops, just saw the brs vid. Looks like a "general rule" is every year for the pre filters. The di resin is a little more often.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Maridia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 07:46 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 234
Why change the resin if it is still functioning?
__________________
Jasonrusso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 01:36 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Maridia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonrusso View Post
Why change the resin if it is still functioning?
I meant the DI Resin will probably need to be changed more frequently than the pre filters. I have the color changing one. So probably when it gets 70-80% orange.
__________________

__________________
Maridia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, question, ro water, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using distilled water instead of tap water for water changes. Camogirl28 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 01-04-2014 09:33 AM
Tap water via water softner and RO water mix to raise kh Philly33 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 11-20-2013 01:55 PM
anyone use water from water softener in fresh water? Ram897 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 06-24-2012 09:00 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM
Water, Water, & More Water talenzmeier Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 07-20-2003 08:33 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.