Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-16-2010, 02:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CEverii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 298
Self induced second cycle

So,like many of you have probably read my previous post, I think my 75g went through a VERY small cycle. I had only cured about 20lbs of LR in my tank, with 50lbs of already cured LR. So needless to say, my parameters only went up a few notches before falling to 0. Still worried that my water is still to new to house any fish yet, i put a few dead raw shrimp in my aquarium last night to set off a second cycle, to make sure that i am good to go. Just seeing if this was a wise move or not. Going to let it sit for another day and start checking my water. I'll probably not let the shrimp completly decompose in the tank, like the Fishless article instructed to do because i had a mini cycle, but maybe just use it to spike my anomia enough to make sure everything is gravy.
__________________

__________________
CEverii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 02:10 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
redneckgearhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: tulsa OK
Posts: 291
if the 50 lbs was already cured you might not see much of a cycle. but putting the shrimp in the tank to check it is a good idea IMO. You can never be too careful when adding expensive fish.
__________________

__________________
redneckgearhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 02:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CEverii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by redneckgearhead View Post
if the 50 lbs was already cured you might not see much of a cycle. but putting the shrimp in the tank to check it is a good idea IMO. You can never be too careful when adding expensive fish.

Ok cool. Thanks for the fast respoce. I knew it wasnt going to harm anything, but I just wanted to make sure I wasnt wasting my time just in case.
__________________
CEverii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 02:30 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
If your tank and LR is already cycle you`ll probably as mentioned above will not see much of cycle. Your water test kit will let you know.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 03:48 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CEverii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 298
*UPDATE*

It's been two days since I threw the two raw shrimp in my tank. Yesterday, I also added about 35lbs of cured LR. So 48 hours after the shrimp and 24 hours after the LR addition, my parameters are still at at 0! Am I to assume that my tank is fully cycled and the bacteria is doing its job and ready for fish?
__________________
CEverii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 03:54 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
By adding your shrimp and extra LR you increase the amount of good bacteria in your tank and you should be able to add a couple of fish to your tank now. Most people make the mistake in saying that their tank is cycled and add to many fish. Your tank is only cycled to the amount of ammonia that was in the system. As you add more life to the tank the bacteria has to buildup to handle the new load ie: ammonia level.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 04:07 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
CEverii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Daytona Beach FL
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by thincat View Post
By adding your shrimp and extra LR you increase the amount of good bacteria in your tank and you should be able to add a couple of fish to your tank now. Most people make the mistake in saying that their tank is cycled and add to many fish. Your tank is only cycled to the amount of ammonia that was in the system. As you add more life to the tank the bacteria has to buildup to handle the new load ie: ammonia level.
Awesome thanks for that good news! I'm gonna go ahead and set my QT tank up now and let it run for a solid day or so before buying fish to put in it. Thanks again!
__________________
CEverii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 05:20 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Be aware that a new QT can have an ammonia spike when a fish is added so monitor ammonia and nitrite and do a PWC if needed.
__________________

__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Almost had a betta-induced heart attack sarah5775 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 09-17-2006 10:49 PM
Cycle (In Progress) ? and Clean Up Crew ? (Post Cycle) SuperWade2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 02-23-2006 05:58 PM
Cycle-- How do YOU Cycle your tank? DragonFish Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 16 01-02-2006 12:02 AM
To cycle or not to cycle.... (2-gallon tank) fearlessfisch Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 10-17-2004 01:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.