Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-22-2006, 10:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Starting new 6 feet tank

Hi guys hope you guys can give me some advice regarding setting up a FOWLR tank.

I have been keeping corals and fishes in a 20g high for 9 months now without any drama/problem. I heard that smaller tank is harder to keep than big tank therefore thinking if I have no drama with small tank should be no problem with bigger tank. I do 10% waterchange every week.

I am now thinking of going BIGGGGGGGGG setting up a 6 feet FOWLR tank. Now here are the questions:

- Do I necessary need metal halides? Or just normal fluorescent light will do? The main reason I go with FOWLR is that I don’t want to invest in metal halides and pay the huge electricity bill. Therefore I won’t be keeping any coral in this tank.
- Do I necessary need a protein skimmer with nil coral tank? My current nano tank is running skimmerless for 9 months as well without any problem (with corals in it). I did use the skimmer at one stage (about 1 month) but there wasn’t really much to skim that’s why I got rid of it. But I only have 3 shrimps, 2 ocellaris clowns, some hermit crabs. But this 6 feet big tank is going to house at least 10 to 15 fishes.
- How often do I need to do waterchange for this big tank?

Thanks for the help in advance guys. Really wish you can help me out.

Old 08-22-2006, 11:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

Setting up 6 feet tank FOWLR

Hi guys hope you guys can give me some advice regarding setting up a FOWLR tank.