Setting up 6 feet tank FOWLR

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

weekf

Aquarium Advice Freak
Starting new 6 feet tank

Hi guys hope you guys can give me some advice regarding setting up a FOWLR tank.

I have been keeping corals and fishes in a 20g high for 9 months now without any drama/problem. I heard that smaller tank is harder to keep than big tank therefore thinking if I have no drama with small tank should be no problem with bigger tank. I do 10% waterchange every week.

I am now thinking of going BIGGGGGGGGG setting up a 6 feet FOWLR tank. Now here are the questions:

- Do I necessary need metal halides? Or just normal fluorescent light will do? The main reason I go with FOWLR is that I don’t want to invest in metal halides and pay the huge electricity bill. Therefore I won’t be keeping any coral in this tank.
- Do I necessary need a protein skimmer with nil coral tank? My current nano tank is running skimmerless for 9 months as well without any problem (with corals in it). I did use the skimmer at one stage (about 1 month) but there wasn’t really much to skim that’s why I got rid of it. But I only have 3 shrimps, 2 ocellaris clowns, some hermit crabs. But this 6 feet big tank is going to house at least 10 to 15 fishes.
- How often do I need to do waterchange for this big tank?

Thanks for the help in advance guys. Really wish you can help me out.

Hi guys hope you guys can give me some advice regarding setting up a FOWLR tank.

I have been keeping corals and fishes in a 20g high for 9 months now without any drama/problem. I heard that smaller tank is harder to keep than big tank therefore thinking if I have no drama with small tank should be no problem with bigger tank. I do 10% waterchange every week.

I am now thinking of going BIGGGGGGGGG setting up a 6 feet FOWLR tank. Now here are the questions: