Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-09-2006, 01:14 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
fs said nitrate jumped because i stired things up during the water change...which i did. true?
It could have been removing the CC. 80% of funk in the CC is a lot of stuff to be stirred up. Usually 30-50% should be removed.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 01:44 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: So. Oregon
Posts: 128
the test were done after the WC (vacuming) but before i removed the CC
__________________

__________________
phish7740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 01:55 PM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Sorry to hear about your fish. I think you are still trying to do too much too fast. You might want to slow down. Just my $.02.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 02:00 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: arizona
Posts: 517
Quote:
ohh yea i have an airpump also so ihave plenty of gas exchange
i dont think you're sposed to use these in saltwater..i think thats what i heard
__________________
sir_dudeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 03:14 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Test your new water for PO4 and nitrates also. Unless your using ro/di water there is a chance that your filtered water is not removing it all.
PO4 you need to find the source and then go from there, test new water if thats not the source how much and what are you feeding. If you can't track down the source then you can use a phosban reactor or some other PO4 remover. What are the numbers for your PO4 and nitrate now.
I would remove as much of the CC as you can, covering it with sand will just hide it for a while, CC always finds its way backup to the top.
Stired things up how? By removing the CC or doing a vac on what it left?
Test you filtered water and post numbers.. You can have 20 filters and still have crap in the water. What are the filters? Just micron and carbon?
Add no new fish or inverts till you get things running better and learn more about the hobby.
This is a great site to learn and we are all here to hepl out.
Which corallife skimmer?
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 09:16 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: So. Oregon
Posts: 128
yea the air pump is one of the reasons im not going back to that store, im only patronizing the other store in town.

ill have to go to the lfs to get a po4 test kit, i brough in my water last time. ill do that tomorrow and check it again.

so po4 can either be from my water source or overfeeding? it might be overfeeding.

i did remove as much of the CC as possible, now i have to wait for the sand to settle out some more.

im not going to add anything else till i know the cycle is done and all the chemistry is good.

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/Produc...&N=2004+113771
this one but ill need a hang on.
__________________
phish7740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 10:00 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
I know a few guys that have the super skimmer and they have nothing but good things to say about it..
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2006, 12:22 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: So. Oregon
Posts: 128
ok...i got PO4 test kit and tested my watersouce/after filtering and clear as day it was 0 (light light green)

the rest looks good too:

amonia <0.25 (bright yellow)
Nitrite =0 (blue)
Nitrate= 0(urin yellow)
Ph =8.2
Cal =540
PO4= 0
SG .022

two weeks in everything looks clear...trying to figure out the best places for the powerheads.

ph has dropped twice to 7.8...added buffer and is fine...going to see if it drops each night like i read somewhere on here. this going to be an ongoing battle isnt it? (reason for a drip)

havent seen an amonia spike yet?
__________________
_________________________________________
phish7740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2006, 11:33 AM   #19
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
this going to be an ongoing battle isnt it? (reason for a drip)
Not if you have good gas exchange. Do you have a canopy for the lighting? If so, that could effect your pH.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2006, 01:08 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: So. Oregon
Posts: 128
if canopy= glass top, no i took it off only about 12" of glass in the middle is permanant

should i put the air hoses on the powerheads so they take in air???
__________________

__________________
_________________________________________
phish7740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setup, stock

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Critique my setup martinc9090 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 14 02-25-2007 08:00 PM
Critique a newbies setup and routine helicopter Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 02-16-2007 11:45 AM
Growth rate, tank setup, stock... dermx Cichlid Discussion 19 12-08-2006 08:42 PM
What to Stock a 35 gallon FO starters setup with. twig Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 09-10-2005 05:32 AM
Need Critique on first SW Setup sevise Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 09-17-2004 01:34 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.