Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-27-2008, 06:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
FloridaNewbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Florida
Posts: 99
should i even bother?

I was getting ready to make a diy 20gal long sump for my 55gal, but there is no way the tank will fit in the cabinet. I don;t want to leave out because it would be an eye sore and a pain in the ***. After measuring everything i can easily fit a 10gal, maybe even 15gal tall.

But that means that it would be a small sump, only adding maybe extra 8 gallons to the overall volume. If i put my skimmer/heater/Uv in the sump, it will not fit anything else.

My questions is, besides hidding all the equipment, is there any benefits of such a small sump?

Thanks
Leo
__________________

__________________
FloridaNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 11:21 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
A 55 should be 48" long. What else is in the cabinet that you can't fit a 20 gallon tank under it?
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 12:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726
Its probably the 12" width on the 20Long tank that is the problem. I had the same problem with my 46bow but its only 36" long
__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 01:50 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
FloridaNewbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Florida
Posts: 99
Fijiwigi nailed it, the lenght is fine, i have about 34' to work with, but the width is only 11'. Plus i don't want to squeeze anything in and stress the stand.
__________________
FloridaNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 05:22 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 250
My only suggestion is that you could have one custom made to fit your stand that will give you more water volume to work with. It would be pricey but I would do that before I bothered to just add 8 gallons to the system imo.
__________________
JoshsReef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 09:33 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Trust me...any size sump will benefit your tank. Aside from hiding equipment, it will also provide you a great place for extra biological filtration such as LR rubble. The increased water volume will also help to maintain water parameters. Think about, adding a 20 gal is almost increasing water volume by 40-45% (give or take).
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 02:46 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
But only a 10g will fit without going custom. A 10g will add 4, maybe 5 gallons of water. That's still a 10% increase, worth it.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 03:21 PM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I agree that water volume is a great thing. There are so many tank configurations out there that you could find something out there.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hatchet fish: Why do I bother? QTOFFER Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 04-06-2007 04:14 AM
does sand substrate bother a snail? slroo Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 02-07-2007 02:11 PM
How should I change my substrate (or should I bother?) us2sinrz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 07-14-2006 09:54 PM
Work place rant! Would this bother you? Rondory Aquaria Off-Topic 20 06-14-2006 02:41 PM
Does tobacco smoke bother you in restaurants? mitche8359 Aquaria Off-Topic 123 02-08-2005 07:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.